We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Save Saved
You added Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Glens Falls, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Piece of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been going to Lafayettes for at least the last 17 years, and it is the only way to go to Maine as far as we are concerned. This last visit was no exception. They're redoing some rooms and even adding a welcomed elevator to the annex, which is where we love to stay. The new bedding was very nice, and the beds were very comfortable. My husband is disabled and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and will go out of their way to help. We like to go there at least 2 if not 3 times a year, and we've never been disappointed.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Deluxe rooms and have been in almost all of the rooms there at one time or ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevator was a long time coming and we are glad that we are able to have it available for our guests. Look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    60
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My best friend and I took a 4 hour drive to get out of Upstate NY, staying at the Lafayette, after finding it online. Found the room to be a little outdated, but ocean front, and comfortable. We labeled it 'grandmas house', somewhere we liked being and had everything we needed. We ended up taking my kids back for a couple days, and had a blast. It was a rainy day, and the pool was alot of fun for all of us. In September, we went back for a weekend, and took a couple more friends with us. This trip, my room was rented out prior to my arrival, much to my dismay. This was quickly rectified by a very nice desk clerk. I appreciated that, and have made plans to go back in June 2013 for my 1st trip of the summer.

Room Tip: We were facing the ocean, and loved it. We enjoyed the balcony in the evening, and also in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition to the rooms with older décor, we do have an expanding variety of rooms that have been renovated. We try to redo between 5 and 15 annually. We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Lafayette is a great hotel. Our family goes every year for at least the past 20 years. My 8 year old loves the pool and the room we stay in is oceanfront and has a beautiful view. Tons of wonderful restaurants around. The rooms are very clean and up to date.

Room Tip: You need to stay in an oceanfront room. They are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves for being a great spot for families to get away. We are happy that we are a part of your 20 years of memories. We hope that we will help to provide you with many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lafayette is a reasonable getaway.We try to go at least twice a year.
They are now renovating the rest of their rooms.We stayed here for our anniverisary
in February.It happened to be the weekend of the storm.What a fasinating experience.
The ocean was roaring.The staff is very helpful and friendly.The pool area is clean and
the waterfall hot tub is relaxing.I love sleeping with the window open so I can hear the ocean.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the ocean in the main building because I do not like to go outside to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We appreciate your review of our property. Storms make the ocean very interesting at any time of year on Wells Beach. It is always fun to kick back and watch the furry of the storm, while cozy in your room. We look forward to hosting you in the future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

It was very clean and friendly.We took the family for a getaway.The kids loved the pool area .I highly recommend going there it's great for all ages.Close to many shopping areas.We had room 155 that was facing the ocean.Loved the view .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is a very popular amenity for travelers with children during the winter months. We look forward to hosting your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I did a quick overnight getaway and couldn't of been happier the ocean and beach within feet of our room perfect! I recommend a nice long walk on the beach even in the winter. The room are warm and cozy' the beds comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The winter is a peaceful and enjoyable time of year on the beach, I am happy that you were able to experience it. We look forward to hosing you in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm at Oceanfront Resort as I'm writing this review. If you want to be near the ocean this is it! We lucked out and got one of their recently remodeled rooms with the ocean at our doorstep. Ocean waves to put you to sleep at night, nice beach for walking and exploring topped off with awesome sunrises!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.