We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground, great staff, clean as a whistle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinederosa Camping Area

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinederosa Camping Area
Save
You added Pinederosa Camping Area to your Saves list
128 North Village Road, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Wells
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great campground, great staff, clean as a whistle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the Pinderosa over Fourth of July weekend for 4 nights. I can't say enough about how pleased we were with the entire set-up. We are tent campers and most places treat you like third-class citizens and shove you in some neglected part of the campground, but here we were welcomed and given a very nice campsite which was large and easily able to accomodate our huge tent and dining area for the other 4 families that came with us.
The highway is close by, but it is kind of a "white noise" and after awhile most people don't notice it. If it does bother you I suggest ear plugs. There is no escaping road noise in this section of Maine, it will come from either the interstate or one of the other heavily traveled roads on the coast.
The bathrooms are clean no matter what time of day or night you visit them. There is a slop sink and washers and dryers right outside them. There is a swimming pool which we never used because we were at the beach all day. It looked well kept and clean.
Overall this campground is much better than the giant parking lot style campgrounds which dot the southern coast of Maine. The sites are large enough to allow some privacy and the bathhouses are centrally located enough to insure only a short walk to them.
As to the person complaining about their children not being able to have sparklers: There was a sign posted in the checkout which clearly stated that they were not allowed. Does the phrase "forest fire" mean anything to you?
I will most definately be back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My family recently did a three night stay with a popup. Overall we enjoyed the stay. As stated in other reviews, the "P" sites seem the best. Our site was large and somewhat private, but given the location, we used it more as a bedroom. Most sites have a decent wooded area between sites as a buffer. Some of the larger RV sites looked less private. Here are some pros & cons.
~ Great location. A couple of miles from great beaches, food & shopping. Right on the Wells/ Ogunquit line.
~ Some good / not so good sites. We got lucky. Some tent sites were right on the road. The overflow sites are in an open field, some near the dump station. The P loop was good.
~ Rte. 95 is farly close by. you can hear it, but it didn't bother us. The other people camping were very quiet- lots of nice Quebecois!
~Impeccable facilities- we even had a pot washing sink nearby!
Overall, we liked the campground. It is suited for it's purpose, a place to spend the night after a long day at the beach, light a fire & have a BBQ.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Pinederosa is in a beautiful area of Maine. It is pretty close to the beach (not walking distance, but they have a trolley that will bring you there). A big plus for me was that the bathrooms were clean and the showers were only 25 cents for 5 min. of hot water. I did not like the fact that there is a highway nearby which you can hear at all times. My biggest complaint is the staff. I was there for 4th of July weekend so we lit some sparklers. I'm not talking big fireworks here, I'm talking sparklers that made minimal sound. A staff member came over on his bicycle and started SCREAMING at us and told us he was going to call the cops and have us escorted out. It seemed like he was overreacting a little bit considering it was a sparkler and it was the FOURTH OF JULY. Anyways, Wells is a great location, but I would never camp at Pinederosa again. Uptight staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We recently stayed at the Pinederosa over the past 4th of July weekend. I couldn't have been more happy with a campground. Our check-in was confusing because we were a large group with 5 different campsites, but the staff muddled through and got us all checked in and onto our sites. We were allowed to check in early because our site wasn't occupied. By noon we had set-up, had a snack and were on our way to the beach. Part of our group arrived late that night and had no problem setting up their site.

One warning, all sites are not equal in size, ours was very large and we set up two large tents and the cooking/dining facilities for our group. Check before you go whether or not you will need one or two sites.

There is noise from the highway, but the birds are far noisier and it is camping. Bring earplugs if this will bother you. The other beach campsites in this area have either the noise from Route 12 or I-95, there is no escaping it and if you're that sensitve than you should be in a hotel.

The bathrooms are spotless and appeared to be cleaned several times a day/night. The grounds are mostly wooded and drained well during the two rainstorms we had (one at night, the other on the 4th during the day).

I didn't use the pool, but it was clean the entire time we were there and the area around it was neat and clean.

Walking around the campground was enjoyable since this is not set up like a parking lot.

We are planning a return trip in August.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights. Very neat/clean, well run campground. only a few hundred feet from Maine turnpike, very noisy 24/7. this was the only campground we have been to where you had to back into the dump station. On the left side of the dump station they have planted a very prickley bush. I could not get my 30 ft. Airstream back to the dump outlet without brushing aginst the dam bush. It did some severe scratches on the finish of our Airstream. We can get them out but just something else we have to do.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSACHUSETTS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We have been staying at pinederosa for many, many years. It is a CLEAN campground, stay at P6, P7 sites, they are large and private. We love the fact that there is no recreation center so the kids have to learn to keep themselves occupied in the outdoors without all the video games, tv and other things that take away from camping experience. The owners are nice, and best of all it is only a few miles from a beautiful beach. If your not into beaching, you can enjoy the small pool which is great for the kids. But please note that this campground is in Wells which is right down from Ogunquit, so there are many same sex couples if this makes you uncomfortable, for us it is not an issue, something for the kids to learn that some families are different.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We have stayed at Pinederosa many times and really like the campground. It is always clean and the camp sites are really laid out with some thought. The bathroom seem to be always clean and the sites themselves well taken care of. It is only a mile or two off of rt 1 so it is a good location in that sense. There is a shuttle that can bring you to the beach and back for a small nominal fee and sure beats having to pay so much to park if you can find a place.
I do have a concern about the amount of people that where staying there last time. All the mapped sites A through E where mostly full but also a meadow near where you enter was full. We where a little concerned that amount of people and the bathroom and shower situation. It was not too bad but there where times that we did have to wait a while for stuff, then again it is camping so you get use to that type of stuff.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinederosa Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinederosa Camping Area

Address: 128 North Village Road, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Wells
Number of rooms: 95
Also Known As:
Pinederosa Camping Area Hotel Wells
Wells Maine Camping
Pinederosa Camping Area Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinederosa Camping Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.