We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lobster!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Catch Restaurant

Fisherman's Catch Restaurant
134 Harbor Rd, Wells, ME 04090
(207) 646-8780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Takeout
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had planned to have dinner in Perkins Cove, but over heard the owner of Tully’s (an AMAZING beer, mead and wine store) telling another patron about Fisherman’s Catch. My interest piqued I asked for the details and we decided to give it a shot instead of heading down to the cove where we would end up paying for parking and most likely waiting quite a bit for our food. I am sooo glad we chose this place! It is the quintessential lobster shack set right on the water. It is off the beaten path a bit so wasn’t crowded. It seems like the sort of place locals would go and the owner of Tully’s reiterated that. The best part of course was the lobster. My husband and I both got the 1 ½ pound lobster served with chips, coleslaw and bread. It’s nothing fancy of course, but it was just perfect. The lobster was fresh and flawlessly cooked. I just cannot say enough good things about this place, it was the perfect end to our trip. The service was friendly and fast also. Highly recommended for local seafood!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    109
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous fresh fish!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have been in this area many but this was our first at Fisherman's Catch. What a wonderful surprise!!! If you are looking for a 4 star dining experience with fine wine and clothes napkins this is not the place for you--look elsewhere. If you love fresh Maine seafood prepared simply in a no-frills setting----what I think of as real Maine dining, then look no more-- this is for you.

We went back twice on our weeks vacation here, and while we had good seafood elsewhere, Fisherman's catch was our hands down favorite. Yes, it is a small shack-like place with a roll of paper towel above your head, but there are pretty views of the marsh, the service is friendley and efficient, but most of all the fish is to die for!!!!!! Don't miss this gem hidden in Wells.
I will dream about their seafood till we return...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Shack with Excellent Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is a shack! The napkins are paper towels suspended overhead. The food is fresh and delicious.
My wife had the well made clam chowder with a one pound lobster. Her lobster was so tender that the shell was even soft! I had a delicious lobster roll with fries and coleslaw.
The prices are reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
“Love the Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have been going to Fisherman's Catch for several years now. The owners, Amy and Ned, have a great menu to choose from. We love the clam chowder. It's thick, creamy, full of clams and always hot. Their fried whole belly clams, oysters and scallops are the best. Not to mention their lobster rolls. Many times there are specials that include a cup of chowder. You will not be disappointed. Not a fancy place, but a good value. If you do not want to wait, go mid-afternoon or when they open. We will be in Wells this week and can't wait to eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Tallwood Motel and we were told to go here. The whole experience was wonderful great food nice atmosphere. We'll be back to both here and The Tallwood Motel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Catch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Catch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.