We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Catch Restaurant

Fisherman's Catch Restaurant
134 Harbor Rd, Wells, ME 04090
(207) 646-8780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Takeout
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We visit the Wells-Ogunquit area from Colorado every summer and this restaurant and the wonderful Cardinelli family and their staff is a major reason we make the trip. Yup, no fooling its that great. We can eat a meal there almost every day while in the area and not get tired of the menu or the atmosphere. It is just what you expect from a classic Maine Seafood Shack. The fried anything on the menu will be the best you have ever had. So fresh! Maine shrimp and scallops so sweet you would swear they roll them in sugar first. Clam strips to die for and fried haddock that melts in your mouth. The lobster stew and chowders are wonderful or try a fresh Lobster Caesar salad. Yum-O! Oh, yes they have wonderful lobster dinners. Great food wonderful service all set along the Rachel Carson in a screened in porch with picnics tables and a view. We can not wait to get back!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    109
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best lobster chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and kids go here. They have the best lobster chowder around. We travel from VT to eat here. The atmosphere is laid back and relaxed. Other great food as well. We have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you talk about seafood shacks in Maine, Fisherman’s Catch is what you think of how they should look. It is a little off the beaten path, down a side street from the main street in Wells. This place is so cute with picnic tables and benches. The décor is very fishermanly. Just love their little lobster guy logo, which is everywhere. You don’t usually see paper towel racks hanging from the ceiling in restaurants but when you’re eating fresh lobster, it gets messy and the towels are very handy. But, we had the crab stuffed haddock with rice pilaf and it was delicious. We were here at lunch on a rainy day so it wasn’t real crowded and we were seated right away. The wait staff was also very nice. The whole place was wonderful. Don’t miss Fisherman’s Catch if you are in Wells.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fresh cheap and local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Easily the best place for seafood around. Rustic and seating- think paper towels and picnic tables help keep prices low and the food great. The service is wonderful, and the food is the best around. Locals love it, and so do tourists- so avoid peak hours if you want to get a table.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best fish you will get in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Have been going to this small hidden fish shanty for years. Seems like every year it gets better. Everything on the menu is fresh and cooked perfectly. Clam chowder is out of this world. Lobster and lobster rolls are some of the best we have had in this area. Prices are very reasonable and service is great.
As with any great restaurant be prepared to wait to get a table. You will truly enjoy your meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Catch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Catch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.