We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood in the rough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Catch Restaurant

Fisherman's Catch Restaurant
134 Harbor Rd, Wells, ME 04090
(207) 646-8780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Takeout
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Seafood in the rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nothing fancy about this seafood restaurant in Wells. If not careful, you could drive right by it. Napkins are a roll of paper towel hanging parallel over your shared table. The food however is outstanding... best clam chowder I had on this trip. My son and I had the lobster roll; my wife had a clam strip roll. Delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    109
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A top favorite w/us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We never miss this restaurant when we travel to Maine! Set in the marsh, binoculars on the sills to watch birds and scenery, and a wooden lobster over the picnic tables [indoors] holds the roll of paper towels that are the napkins -- so handy. Clam chowder, lobster, strawberry shortcake.................you can't go wrong!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fried seafood!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place was a small busy seafood restaurant located near the water. Open air seating, picnic table style. Very casual. Service was good. Food was ok, We ordered the calamari for starters. Captains Seafood Platter for 2, a Dog covered in Pulled BBQ pork. and side order of their famous clams! Went into a fired food coma after only 30 minutes!! Had to take a lot back to the motel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so not disappointing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Go outside of prime lunch and dinner hours to avoid a wait. We ordered blueberry beer (with fresh blueberries in it!); I had the clam plate and my partner had the fish and chips. The fish came with four big pieces of fish, and the batter was very thin and crispy. She said her fish was perfectly cooked and moist. This came with fries and coleslaw - both fine. My clams were sooo delicious with a light batter that didn't taste at all greasy or heavy. The portion sizes for both are quite large - couldn't eat it all and we can both eat! You must go there!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They have it " dialed in" !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

A great place to go for fresh seafood and they welcome all! The grandchildren particularly loved the lobster paper towel holders hanging above the tables. Go hungry, as the portions are large!
My only suggestion, Fisherman's Catch, bring back the haddock sliders... :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Catch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Catch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.