We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chip Stand Style Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Shanty "Best Fried Clams in Maine"

Clam Shanty "Best Fried Clams in Maine"
Route 1 "Hannaford Plaza", Route 1, Wells, ME 04090
+1 207-216-4005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Full Breakfast - Best Fried Clams In Maine!, Maine Lobsters, Clam Chowder and Lobster Rolls in Maine. Clam Shanty - Fried Clams, Seafood, Lobster Rolls, Clam Chowder, Burgers, Boiled Maine Lobsters and Steamers, Haddock, Scallops, Roast Beef, Hot Dogs and Salads
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chip Stand Style Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed our meal. We shared haddock bits and clam strips.

Clam strips were very delicious, haddock bits were okay, nothing special. Huge portions though! We could have easily just ate one clam strip basket. Barely had room for our fries afterwards.

Staff were very friendly. They were having fun with each other which to me is a big plus for a place. The girl the served us helped us decided what we wanted and was honest about the meals.

Right on route 1 between Wells and Ogunquit and you eat right on the side of the road. Safe for small children though as the seating is fenced in, probably to keep kids from booking it to the road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lobster Rolls ....... Crab cakes ......... french fries ....... chicken fingers ......... everything is awesome. Prices are below average in this area. Service is great. What else can I say?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely Some of the Best Clams Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Since I've never had fried clams anywhere else in Maine, I can't say whether or not these are the best in the state. Having said that, the clams here are truly excellent. Big, plump, tasty and perfectly cooked. And the portion size I had was huge, lots and lots of clams and fries, with cole slaw and tartar sauce. The staff here also deserves mention for being extremely friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Clam Shanty looks like a typical dive from the road, but within its walls awaits some very tasty seafood. The portions are huge. Two people can easily share a clam basket. The service is fast even at peak times. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's not just seafood they have one of the best Roast Beef sandwiches in town. Everything we have tried is awesome and large portions at a good price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Shanty "Best Fried Clams in Maine" also viewed

 

Been to Clam Shanty "Best Fried Clams in Maine"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Shanty "Best Fried Clams in Maine", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.