We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lobster roll , not a lobster bun.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
1150 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4502
(207) 646-5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lobster roll , not a lobster bun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We hadn't been back to Mikes in a couple of years. What brought us back was the geat lobster rolls they had. My wife ordered a lobster roll at $12.99 and I of ocourse ordered the jumbo at $20.99. When the order came I was shocked. My wifes roll was barely full with small stingy pieces of lobster. When mine arrived it was on a hamburger BUN,loaded with french fries ,a slice of tomatoe and a few leafes of lettuce.The lobster again was stringly, not a lot of chunks of meat. Need less to say we will never go back to Mikes again. Looking at other peoples orders they were small.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    199
    118
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tasty Dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

All their seafood is fresh and so tasty. Even in the off-season thy were pretty busy. I had the Lobster Pot pie which is real lobster topped with a seafood stuffing. (You can get it baked or broiled). The portion was small but filling. My wife enjoyed the fried whole clams; a generous portion. Another night we both had surf n turf with an 8oz NY strip with a nice size portion of gulf shrimp and my wife had the clams. The steak was a little on the rare side when we both ordered it medium. Still tasted good. Service was friendly and fast. There's a lot of seating so even in the summer, the wait shouldn't be long.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mike's became our daily stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I picked up my friend from Florida at the airport and our first stop as we headed to the condo was Mike's. My friend enjoys fine dining and was very impressed with Mike's. We sat in the bar area, very relaxing and had an amazing dinner, haddock, steamers, stuffed mushrooms and a nice cold beer. The staff was friendly and we were so comfy we stayed for a while and then came back every day for a drink during his week long stay. Big fan!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT SO HOT....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Contrary to popular belief, my experience at this landmark restaurant was less than stellar. I went with close family for a birthday celebration in the middle of summer, high season. The food was average at best and not good enough to earn my return business. However, I conitnue to see the parking lot full and the retaurant packed, so perhaps it was just a bad day in the kitchen? I may try it one more time to be sure...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee,Ma.
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit. It was a Friday night and the place was hopping. There was no seats anywhere it seemed and we only stopped in for drinks so we found a table just past the bar. There was live entertainment that night, the singer was excellent. We had a few drinks and left. The next day we stopped in for lunch. My husband had a fish sandwich, very tasty! It was a special on the menu. I had a tuna roll and fries, very good. The wait was a little long, again the place was hopping, so we understood. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu items, at times a little to talkative. But I believe the wait was due to only having 2 waitresses on, with so many customers. At one point a party of three came in and was overheard saying, "I guess we are invisible." This place is very busy so expect a little wait, but the food is very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.