We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few places open off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
1150 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4502
(207) 646-5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the few places open off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were travelling at the end of March and had tried to go to a lobster place in Ogunquit, but everything was closed. We asked a local and Mike's Clam Shack was recommended. So off we went! We had a lovely meal. Our main reason for going was for the children to try some lobster. It was great, as was the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    200
    118
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chowder, Clams & Sports Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Weekend winter get away brought us to Mike's for a late lunch. Enjoyed one of the best bowls of Clam Chowder since coming up this way! Great Lobster roll and full belly fried clams while watching college basketball. The service was friendly and it was busy for a January Day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thought it might be a tourist trap but it wasn't
Locals abound

Best lobster stew I've ever had

Disappointed jumbo lobster roll was on a round Billie type dry roll

Fried food outstanding including onion rings

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lobster and. So much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Mike's upon a referral from a friend in NJ. The prices of lobster have increased but this weekend we had a lobs yah dinner for way less than another local restaurant.. The service was great.. Wait staff and all parties very friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our party consisted of 22 adults and children. Staff only requested a 45 minute notice, and upon arrival were able to accomodated us within 15 minutes.
All had a great time, especially our visitors from Texas.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.