We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
1150 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4502
(207) 646-5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 58 restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Shelburne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ourstanding seafood restaurant, especially for lobster and clams!!! Best clam chowder ever!!!
A must go to place!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    237
    161
    99
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Benson, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the third place we have eaten in Wells. The prices are comparable with most of the competition. The fried whole clams are the best around. The serving size is huge, the fries are hand cut, the only complaint I had was there was very little cole slaw, the serving size could have been a little bigger. The clam chowder was outstanding, some of the best I have had. My wife commented that while the scallops she had were great, they were not as tasty as ones she had recently elsewhere. She also said the home made onion rings were terrific.

The place is modern & clean and the service was prompt and attentive. There is no question that we will return when we are in the area again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped there during a recent weekend in the area because I had found a reference to it in a travel magazine. We sat in the main restaurant which was older and dated in furnishings. I had the lobster roll which was good, but I was surprised it was "undressed" lobster. I had expected at least a bit of mayo and in hindsight, I should have asked for either some of that or some melted butter to drizzle on it. My companion had a very good piece of prime rib. I would eat here again, but wouldn't necessarily pick it above another place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stopped in to Mike's for lunch. Had lobster rolls, which were outstanding. Very tender lobster and lots of it. The clam chowder was the best tasting I've ever had. Loaded with clams too. We have a place on cape Cod and consume many lobster rolls and lots of chowder each summer, but none of them can touch the chowder here! They sell a 3-can make-you-own package of this chowder and you can be sure we took some home. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not much to shout about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We decided to try out Mike's Clam Shack for lunch on Thanksgiving Day. All we wanted was a light lunch since we would be dining elsewhere later in the day. Good - they were open, we easily got seats, we got prompt service, and we enjoyed cups of the clam chowder. Not quite so good - the seafood stuffed mushrooms (not much taste at all) and the noise of multiple TVs showing football games. (Granted, we were seated in the bar area, so that should not be much of a surprise.) Nothing about the ambiance, the food, or the service suggested we would be returning soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.