We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Beach

Wells Beach
Wells, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Wells
Attraction details
Clarendon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We love coming to Wells Beach. It is a great beach to just hang out and relax. Love walking the beach. It is fairly quiet everyone seems to have a good time when they are here. Love to watch the waves come in. We usually come after dark and just watch the whitecaps. The weather was just great when we were here, but I still like the Fall the best.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    90
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Flat, rocky beach - fun for kids when the tide is low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wells Beach is a flat beach filled with rocks. Beach seating is limited, especially when the tide is high. If you plan to spend the day, grab a spot by the beach wall so you don't have move, or in the event that you have to make a quick exit. It's not a terribly pretty beach, but it does have fantastic tide pools and neat rocks. The beach is also popular with dog owners as canines are allowed up until 8AM and after 5PM. Parking is free right by the beach but parking is limited, so get there early. There is a paid lot near the playground. There is also an arcade (avoid - because it is stifling), 4-5 shops, and a couple of small eateries. Wells Beach isn't my favorite beach, but it is a fun spot and I always make a point to visit when I'm in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“alot of rocks on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

the water was clean and alot of good waves. Was hoping to find some neat shells. Found a couple. Grand-kids enjoyed making sand castles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wells Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Tranquil, New England beach. Great for relaxing, body surfing, or just hanging out. Breathtaking sunsets, great for long walks, family friendly and near great restaurants and activities.

New England weather is subject to abrupt changes, so bring lots of layers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Walking Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This walk is a standard of ours. We start at the hotels at the south end and walk along the beach til the breakwater. My husband walks the entire length of it and easily handles the rocks but I walk the other way to the Parking lot and public washrooms.
The beach is quite flat and perfect for a run. You will see lots of others just walking and beachcombing. At the south end there a tidal pools for the kids to explore and benches for a little rest.
The water in Maine is cold at the best of times but even in June there were a few brave souls in the surf.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wells Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.