We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view on the marshes and the ocean from the cottages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garrison

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garrison
Save Saved
You added The Garrison to your Saves list
1099 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Garrison Suites, Motel and Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Wells
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful view on the marshes and the ocean from the cottages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we rented a deluxe cottage for a week in July and we were really pleased with the quality and comfort of the place. Nice balcony with picnic table and a great view on the marshes, and the ocean. It's very clean, inside and outside.
Very well located. Easy to bike to many beaches and to main attractions. Restaurants and groceries are close. We did not use our car very much because its was so much fun to bike around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Small Town Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

So many things to love about the Garrison. Both last year and this year I stayed in the large motel section. I loved that it has a private bedroom that sleeps two, and then in the living room not only is there a pull out couch (sleeps 2) but also a Murphy bed (sleeps 2) which is always a big hit with our children. There is also a nice kitchen with a normal sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, microwave, etc. It's very clean and enjoyable. The kids loved the pool (very clean and comfortable lounges) and the grassy play area in which to run around and play on the swingset. The owners are always very pleasant as well. An added bonus. . . just walk directly across the street and you are at Congdons Donuts which has an amazing bakery. The Garrison has everything you could ask for.

Room Tip: We prefer a ground floor in the large motel section. Easy to bring things to and from the car. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited Maine for a long weekend, and had an excellent stay at the centrally located Garrison Suites. The suite was very clean and well maintained, as were the pool and hotel grounds. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The Murphy bed was surprisingly comfortable, but the couch was a little outdated. The view was pretty and unobstructed, and all of the staff members were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We only have a motel room but I can say its a good deAl! Only $125 a night. Good pool, good location as its close to drake island and mile road (both w beaches at the end of them). Only minor complaint , each room doesnt have individual chairs out front , there are Just benches to share which aren't that comfie. A/c also blows right on the 1 bed. Is little noisy but I didn't mind. Overall good place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

While taking a chance on a recent escape to Maine we found ourselves in Wells, Maine after an all night drive from Moncton, NB. Coming out of the parking lot of Cogdon's Donuts after having the best breakfast imaginable we saw the view from the Garrison Suites ...it looked like heaven! The owner showed us a two bed efficiency close to the breathtaking view of the salt marshes ringing the beaches that was clean, fresh and only $150.00 per night in a very pricey area of Maine. He even went so far as to let us check in at 9 am after our all night drive, which is saying something.

The room was comfortable and spacious, and the bathroom was nice and clean. The kitchen area had a small table and sink/fridge unit that was great for soft drinks and washing up our travel mugs. The pool in the center of the property is clean, clean and then some. We spent two days lying in the sun on new chaise loungers enjoying the view. The only oddity was they don't supply pool towels so we went down the road to the Cannon Towel Outlet and bought plush bathsheets for $3.99.

The property is fronted by a beautiful historic yellow house and the property is inviting and open. We really found it to be a great home base as we spent our time shopping in Portland (only 10 minutes away) and Boston (only 1 hour away) in the evenings. Kittery is just under 10 minutes down the road and beautiful Wells/Ogunquit has shops, restaurants and beaches that envy any we have seen. Don't forget Funtown/Splashtown is under 10 minutes away also!

Can't wait to go back! This time we will try to extend our trip by several days. Thanks again to the owner for taking us in so early in the morning. You have earned our business for years to come.

Room Tip: All rooms face a central pool area, but we like to be on the ground floor so there is less carrying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Garrison Suites in Wells. It was our first experience and we would definitely go back. The suites are the best deal as they have been recently updated with Lazy Boy sofa beds - they also have Murphy beds which I haven't seen in ages and both are very comfortable. It's a nice layout and because the back side of the suites is trees - you hear the birds in the morning! But the best feature is the housekeeping - I have never stayed in such a clean and immaculate place! It was awesome! I don't know about other travelers, but a clean place means alot to us and our stays in other places in Wells has been disappointing. Garrison does not disappoint and you have an unobstructed view of the marsh and ocean! Can't beat it.

Room Tip: Choose the suites as opposed to the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duanesburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Last week my wife and I made our June pilgrimage to the Ogunquit-Wells area for the 50th year,and we found the Garrison Motel and Suites right before our eyes. However it might not have been totally our fault for not ever seeing it before. The reason being is that there is an old dwelling in the immediate front and the Garrison has been almost a secret. however in talking with the owner,who by the way has only had the motel for a few years told me that big things are in the works and will start happening soon. It will open the property up and make it visible for travelers and guests. There is a nice assortment of motel units, some of which are efficientcies;great little cottages, and of course, the suites. Also nicely situated on the property is a sparkling new pool.There is a tidal marsh beyond and then views of the Atlantic

Room Tip: I think all of the motel,cottage,and suites are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison

Address: 1099 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Garrison Suites, Motel and Cottages)
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Also Known As:
Garrison Suites, Motel And Cottages Hotel Wells
Garrison Hotel Wells
Garrison Motel Wells
The Garrison Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.