We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Haven" is the right word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven By The Sea
Save
You added Haven By The Sea to your Saves list
59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Wells B&B and Inns
Portland Maine
1 review
“"Haven" is the right word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I so looked forward to getting away and was not disappointed with my stay at Haven by the Sea. It was a wonderful stay. I enjoyed the close poximity to the ocean. Breakfast was enjoyable with good food. Walking on the beach--not far from the Inn--was relaxing. At happy hour late that afternoon, the innkeepers were great. As a single traveler, I truly felt very comfortable and right at home. I would go back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The Ocean not far away
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    8
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
45
319
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

This was our first B&B experience, and we very much enjoyed Haven by the Sea. We were a little worried before we got there because there are no pictures of the rooms on their website, and the place looks very traditional like a converted old church (and we are a younger, non-religious couple). But the Haven was nice and quiet, and also fairly convenient to get around to nearby attractions. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also delicious! We would stay there again.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was our fifth stay at Haven by the Sea, and as always could not have been happier with the accomodations, food, charm of the Inn or the Innkeepers. Breakfasts were termendous and the late afternoon happy hour was always a great time. The room we had was very tastefully decorated, our bed extremely comfortable and both the room and bath were impeccably clean. It doesn't get any better than this. Great accomodations, a two minute walk to the beach and hospitality better than any I have ever experienced.

  • Liked — Attention to detail by the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

My Wife and I visited Haven by the Sea recently for our anniversary. We have been there in the past and never took the time to write a review. At the very least, I feel it must be done at this point as our stay(s) have been absolutely incredible each and every time. The Inn itself ( in it's physical state) is completely incredible, from it's history, it's architecture, and the extravagant decor that fills each and every ounce of this seaside gem. It is quaint and charming and provides the warm feel and security of being in your own home. The Innkeepers are courteous, kind and friendly and always willing to help with any guest needs or accomodations. The food is simply delectable, the neighbors are most pleasant and it's location is quite favorable as it lends itself to the nearby conveinience of the beach, excellent dining choices, great places to see, and things to do. In Summary, I would highly recommend a stay at Haven by the Sea as my wife and I have been to MANY other B&B's and would attest that it's recognition by the "Select Registry" (distinguished inn's of North America) is truly deserved! -Five Stars-
-MD and CD-

  • Liked — Warm and Friendly, Fun, and Reasonable rates
  • Disliked — The part when we had to leave :(
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We've just returned from our stay at the Haven by the Sea and have never felt so welcome or enjoyed such wonderful accomodations and treatment. The Innkeepers met us at the door, took our bags to our room and showed us around the Inn. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable! We never heard a sound from our neighbors rooms. John and Susan Jarvis inquired about our dinner plans and made several recommendations. Once a decision was made they called and made the reservation for us which they did again on night number two. Happy Hour is held daily around 4:00 and John is a force to be reckoned with in his bar "Temptations". In the morning breakfast, prepared by Susan, was nothing short of gourmet. We spent some time at the beach - a one minute walk from the Inn and visited the sites around Wells and Kennebunkport. I can truly say this was a perfect vacation getaway - a combination of feeling at home and being completely spoiled at the same time! We can't wait to get back there!

  • Liked — The Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea

Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.