We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B experience in lovely beach area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven By The Sea
Save
You added Haven By The Sea to your Saves list
59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Wells B&B and Inns
Newton, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“B&B experience in lovely beach area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Haven by the Sea for two nights in a comfortable room with a king bed (room 3). John and Susan are gracious, welcoming hosts, and were very helpful with making dinner reservations for us (as this was a spur of the moment type trip, we hadn't done that in advance, and they were able to get us a reservation at a great place, the MC Perkins Cove in Ogunquit). The B&B is immaculately clean, beautifully furnished, and provides warm, personal service. We enjoyed sitting and reading on the back deck, which is quiet and relaxing. The breakfast each morning was delicious and filling, and the owners were happy to accommodate our dietary restrictions.The beach is an easy one minute walk from the Haven. We have stayed at many B&B's in New England but this was our first experience with a place that combined all the things we love about B&B's with proximity to the beach. We will definitely return to the Haven when we come back to Wells area next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    8
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
45
319
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a last minute room at Haven By The Sea. I had the best 2 nights sleep of the week here. Susan and John were warm, helpful and friendly. The location is perfect....in a quiet little town, a very short walk to the beach and a short drive to either Kennebunkport or Ogunquit. This was our first trip to Maine and the 2 nights at Haven By The Sea were my favorite part of the trip. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place! Service was excellent and John and his wife are gracious hosts! Great bar, and so close to everything! Thanx!!! We will be coming again and again!
Great advice on places to eat and the whale watch that John recommended was awesome. I really think this is one of the best B and B's Ive ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The first time was memorable and this one was even better. Its just like coming back home. Susan and John make you feel the most important people on earth and treat you that way...humour as a bonus. For us, sea freaks, to be so near beautifull sandy beaches is another reason we keep coming back. Only one negative; I took a few pounds courtesy of Susan's splendid breakfeast. A must

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Haven By The Sea is just that: a quiet sanctuary a short block from the beach, yet out of the tourist hustle (which is still within easy walking distance if desired). Rooms (we stayed in two) ran from charming and comfortable, to spacious and plush, but everything felt warm and inviting. Setting Haven apart from many others are the plush common spaces - great for reading or talking. Breakfasts were inventive and filling. On top of all this was the warmth of the lovely hosts. Overall, hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our last adventure before having our 1st baby trekking from Ohio across Maine and NY. We had an awesome time at Haven By the Sea. John and Susan are wonderful hosts and instantly made us feel like we were part of the family. We had happy hour cocktails with the other guests on their back patio overlooking their beautiful garden and the intracoastal water. Since we were new to Wells, they did not only give us dinner recommendations - they made the reservations for us. We enjoyed our impeccable accommodations and delicious breakfasts each morning outside on the patio. The amenities, the proximity to the beach, the fare...all were great, but the hosts set the tone to make us feel completely at home in this lovely historic inn.
We loved it and plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As usual, our five day stay at Haven by the Sea flew by. Walking in on day one was like coming back home, we were instantly relaxed and comfortable. Wells, Maine is a low key, welcoming kind of place, but with enough restaurants and a lovely beachfront with tons of shoreside walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea

Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.