We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven By The Sea
Save
You added Haven By The Sea to your Saves list
59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Wells B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“As advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Haven By The Sea is just that: a quiet sanctuary a short block from the beach, yet out of the tourist hustle (which is still within easy walking distance if desired). Rooms (we stayed in two) ran from charming and comfortable, to spacious and plush, but everything felt warm and inviting. Setting Haven apart from many others are the plush common spaces - great for reading or talking. Breakfasts were inventive and filling. On top of all this was the warmth of the lovely hosts. Overall, hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    8
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
45
319
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our last adventure before having our 1st baby trekking from Ohio across Maine and NY. We had an awesome time at Haven By the Sea. John and Susan are wonderful hosts and instantly made us feel like we were part of the family. We had happy hour cocktails with the other guests on their back patio overlooking their beautiful garden and the intracoastal water. Since we were new to Wells, they did not only give us dinner recommendations - they made the reservations for us. We enjoyed our impeccable accommodations and delicious breakfasts each morning outside on the patio. The amenities, the proximity to the beach, the fare...all were great, but the hosts set the tone to make us feel completely at home in this lovely historic inn.
We loved it and plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As usual, our five day stay at Haven by the Sea flew by. Walking in on day one was like coming back home, we were instantly relaxed and comfortable. Wells, Maine is a low key, welcoming kind of place, but with enough restaurants and a lovely beachfront with tons of shoreside walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been guests at Haven By The Sea for the past ten years. As always the facility is pristine, the food is outstanding and the hospitality second to none! The Inn's proximity to the beach, the happy hour in the evening make this a real gem.

Room Tip: Second floor suite is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Although the choices are many, each year we come back to "our little haven". Haven by the Sea is truly an oasis of rest and relaxation. Everything about it is welcoming and warm. John and Susan(owners extraordinaire!) are attentive, lovely, and fun!! We can't say enough about this B & B any time of the year, your stay will certainly be top notch!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Trust me, even though this B&B is just a short walk from the beach, you may not want to leave its comfy quarters. The gorgeous converted church is welcoming and charming, the rooms clean and comfortable. But its the hosts -- John and Susan -- that will make your stay memorable. Susan lights up the room, and you'll devour the breakfasts she creates and cooks each morning. John plays the role of host with panache, attending to your every need happily -- with his own hilarious brand of humor. It's safe to say: the Haven is heaven. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fantastic location with a view of the marsh from the back porch and just a short stroll to the beach and the shops. The owners are welcoming and hilarious. The converted church is beautifully decorated. The breakfasts and cocktails are delicious. Susan and John take every effort to make the stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea

Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.