We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live in Wells, Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   424 Post Road, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #9 of 12 Wells B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“I want to live in Wells, Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Midway Motel and it was AMAZING. The cottages were very clean, supplied with everything we needed in the kitchen, the office was very accommodating to our needs and provided us with extra blankets and everything else we wanted. They also have grills and picnic benches/tables so you can bbq. It is very close to town and the office has a trolley or they will call the cabs for you. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, very very reasonably price, would recommend it to my friends. Definitely coming back =)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had an excellent stay. I am glad that you noticed our reasonable prices. We really try to provide a great quality, and clean room for our customers at a great value. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have been making our annual trek to Wells, Maine for the last 5 years, and stayed at the Midway each and every time. We have rented the cabins that are behind the motel part, and have always been very, very happy.
Our units have each had 2 bedrooms, living room, and a galley kitchen. There is picnic tables and grills available for use. The front office was happy to supply fresh towels and other items as needed also.
We also enjoyed the pool this year-plenty big enough for the people staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Midway, and are a frequent customer! The motel is now under new management of August 2012, and our goal for you is to provide even a better experience for you at Midway! We will be keeping the same staff, and it is reassuring that they treated you with great service. One thing we were able to this September was obtain brand new picnic tables, and that are sturdy.

I hope to see, and meet you next year on your Annual trek at Midway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our family of 4 had no idea where to stay in Maine, so we went with the Midway Motel based on the recommendation from our friends. What a great decision! Highlights for us: The room was clean/comfortable. The other renters were all nice and joyful. We felt totally safe/slept great...Coffee maker in the rooms. The new owners were very welcoming/friendly/helpful with questions. Sure, it's not a 5 star hotel but the prices at this time were the best around (parking was tight). But, if you want a comfortable, quiet,safe place to stay while you're at the beach/boardwalk, this is it! The owners obviously take pride in their business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Midway. We do take our business very serious and always try to give our customers the best value. We are renovating our motel, and it will be even better next year. Please do comeback if you are ever in the area - we'd be delighted to accomodate you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The front desk clerk was extremely pleasant! The rest:
The location is average, not on the water but accessible to all. Exterior of motel a bit dated but not as bad as some...
The room, I'll be nice because it was clean however the Glade plugin freshener was nauseating, took it out and put it in a drawer. The room was so old and dated. Mold in the ceiling tile of the shower. Needs MUCH attention and updating. Tv was basic antenna cable only. Beds all noisy springs, ill fitting sheets, terrible spreads. Could go on but you get the picture.

Pool looked cute a bit small...
I would not visit again. I am in a Wyndham right now for less money albeit not near a beach, but feel like I'm in heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I want to let you know that as of August 2012, the motel is now under new management.

I am extremely happy hearing that the staff was pleasant to you.

However, more importantly, I am disappointed that you had an inconvenient stay here at Midway. As the new owner, I will be the first to admit that the motel needs attention and updating. We have started to renovate the motel, and plan on including updates to the following: Plasma TVs, new linen (pillow cases, bed sheets, etc), new bed spreads, updated ceiling tiles where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Address: 424 Post Road, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.