We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Tips I ever had...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boon Island Ale House

The Boon Island Ale House
124 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090-4608
207-641-8489
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Casual, Comfortably Elegant Chef Inspired Restaurant with a Nautical flare.
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Steak Tips I ever had...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband had eaten here in late September with a group of men...he said everyone's meal look terrific and the service was very good...we have been out of the area and tonight was the first time we have been able to go back. So very glad that we did! We arrived just after 5:30 on a chilly night(23 degrees...in case you don't know what "chilly" means in Maine!)The place smelled sooo good! Decided to sit at the bar and we were glad we did. Super bartender named Haley was attentive and friendly. Ordered a bottle wine (BV Coastal @ $24)...settled on Fish & Chips for him and Steaks Tips for me. F&C was very good but we agree that the Steak Tips(I share) was the best we have had in a long time(ordered Medium rare and served exactly mr!)...Sides of sweet potato fires & broccoli(best sides ever!)...all the broccoli was eaten...cooked al dente with a little butter & s&p)(Hmmm...saw that GHW Bush ate here...wonder if he ate the broccoli...he should have!...could have changed a 80 yr old phobia!)
Watched several items being served to other guests...looks like "Shark Bites"...fried fish chunks served in a paper cone...is the one we'll try next time...That and a couple of brews would do the trick...if we can stay away from the Steak Tips!
Our bill...Steak Tips...F& Chips...bottle of wine...$66 even. Totally worth it. We will be back! They do take reservations...my requirement for the summer season...but not necessary in the winter.
How often do we go out to eat and have everything meet or exceed our expectations? Almost never!(read my reviews!) Drove home planning when we can go back. The best...good luck and carry on!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    27
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have eaten several times at the new location. Whether it's the lobster Mac n Cheese, Shark Bites or Boillabase(sp?) the food has always been exceptional. Service has been great and attentive. Even a meal of apps and salad or specialty pizzas are great. One of our favorite restaurants north of Boston!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal at the new location of Boone Island Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a chance to return to BIA at their new location and was most impressed. Fancy but friendly environment. Great beer selection. I had the lobster pizza and it was great!!!! A real Maine suprise on the lobster topping. Tina and Phil, the owners, both personally made sure my visit with old friends was a great evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Locals and tourist alike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have eaten there several times. The first couple of times were a disappointment (the lobster potato skins could have been amazing but were just ok). However, the last time we ate there, the food was amazing. I had the pumpkin mascarpone ravioli with braised beef short rib was out of this world. Hubby had the pork chop with apples and raisins. Another guest had the seafood bouillabaisse and his wife had the chicken dish. We were very impressed with this visit and will definitely go back--especially for the pints of beer at $3.75

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“*****EXCELLENT*****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't say enough. The food is excellent, staff is friendly and prompt. The owners Tina and Phil are constantly in the front and back supervising the prep and service of the meals. We have never had a bad experience. From the Entrees to the Burgers always served with an Orchid garnish on the plate. Bar staff very friendly and remember what the returning customers order. Tastefully decorated. Very clean and neat. They go above and beyond to satisfy the customer. Make it a point to stop by for the Sunday Brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boon Island Ale House also viewed

 

Been to The Boon Island Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boon Island Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.