We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Find of the Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Village by the Sea to your Saves list
Village by the Sea
Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Wells
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Find of the Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 4 days here and had two different couples join us for two days each. All of us were wowed by the accomodations and loved the views of the ocean from the balconies. Waking up to see the sunrise over the ocean was spectacular! Off-season prices can't be beat; staff was attentive to all of our questions and requests. Housekeeping staff went beyond expectations to serve. My sister suggested that we make this an annual tradition.

Room Tip: If you want the best water views, choose a room on one of the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    114
    23
    19
    11
See reviews for
223
137
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Center, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pleasantly surprised! Have stayed at other resorts in the area, and wanted to have a view of the marsh this time and what a beautiful view it was to wake up to! VBTS was very responsive in our requests for information and gave us a great deal!
The suite was very roomy, comfortable, clean with a well-stocked kitchen. Beautiful decor, and our unit was supplied with games, movies and reading material for all. Will come back next year with extended family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield NH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided at last minute to spend a night in Wells and looked for either a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit or 2 separate rooms. Found a great rate for Village by the Sea. The unit was very spacious. The living room/dining room were very comfortable. Large well equipped kitchen and unit also included a washer/dryer. Really a great place for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors would give better view toward ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Village by the Sea is the perfect place for a family vacation. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was our home away from home. We really didn't want to leave. It's perfect for a family because you have multiple bedrooms and bathrooms, and a full kitchen. We stayed in February, and we could see the shore front from our front door. We took a short drive to Kennebunkport for the day, and everything is just as beautiful as the summer - just quieter :) I'm ready to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with a family. Very relaxed and comfortable. The unit had everything we needed to cook a great dinner. Kids hung out at the pool while the adults relaxed and got food on the table. Have stayed there twice. Will be back anytime we're visiting southern Maine or Boston area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been going to VBTS for almost ten years and would highly recommend the property to friends and family, Each unit is privately owned resulting in a wide variety of furnishings. I travel with a friend and it's nice for each of us to have our own room which is so much better than a hotel room. All of the rooms overlook the marsh which is especially beautiful in the morning when the sun rises over the ocean. VBTS is comfortable and relaxing and we'll be returning in the Fall,

Room Tip: We had a room with a gas fireplace which made it cozy on windy, cold evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I just returned from out vacation to Village by the Sea. We stayed two nights and my kids loved it! It was really quiet, still the off-season in Maine, so they had the pool to themselves the whole time. It is so nice to go somewhere and have all the comforts and amenities of home. I was able to do our laundry in the comfort of our room and not have to worry about it when I got home. We stayed in room 3D and couldn't have asked for more. The décor was comfy and homey, the fireplace was great and the view was beautiful. The location was near everything, especially my husband's favorite restaurant, The Steakhouse. We are looking forward to coming back to Maine maybe in June and will definitely stay here again. You can't beat the price for what you're getting. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.