We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in wells!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Village by the Sea to your Saves list
Village by the Sea
Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Best place to stay in wells!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've tried other places in maine and nothing compares to village by the sea. Its so nice to have all of the convieniences of home when your on vacation. Not to mention being able to save money by cooking in instead of eating out every meal. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    124
    24
    19
    11
See reviews for
241
146
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wow!...What a great experience! This place was clean, felt like home, and just made you feel like you were AWAY and on a vacation. So many nice restaurants near and the luxury of having a place like Kennebunkport so close was also great! We enjoyed every aspect of this vacation especially the low price of Village by the Sea, while offering such great service! Definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: Get rooms on top that have a balcony! You will get a great view of Wells Beach from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing week here in Wells. We went to Ogunquit Beach -the best sand and walking beach, but the water was 58 way too cold. We went to Wells Beach also once but do not enjoy seeing a concrete wall by the beach. We love Parsons Beach where it is secluded and just lovely, quiet and relaxing.
The location is really great and an easy location to travel to. Our unit was clean, a few spots on the rug and the bed had quite a few squeaks. The kitchen had all you could need and they had 2 gas grilles for the complex, which we used three times. We sat by the outdoor pool in the late afternoon, and I went to the indoor hot tub once. My husband prefers an outdoor hot tub, so he never went in to use it.
Night life in the area is lacking. There are so many restaurants, but no music venues. We went to Feile on Sat. night, but the band was for real old folks.
We think for families this is a great find with indoor and out door pools and nice size units. The prices went down after Aug 24th, so it was a real bargain.
All in all we enjoyed our week getaway.

Room Tip: ask ahead for a nicer room, we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family and I started staying at Village By the Sea about 4 years ago. It is a great place to stay. Having a big family is hard to travel most of the time we need 2 rooms. However syaing at Villiage By the Sea we can all stay in the same room. I also love having a full kitchen so we dont always have to eat out. The kids love having so much space to play and being able to swim even if its cold or raining because they have an indoor pool. The staff at Village By the Sea are very pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Filthy room. Bacon smell that was so terrible that we could not use the kitchen area/lounge/2nd bedroom. Unacceptable for 250 per night. We asked twice the front desk for cleaning. Just received a sorry. They are there to collect money, and that's it. And at that price, they do not heat the outdoor pool.... Should not be 1sr on trip advisor. Not reliable

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was always taught to not say anything unless you had something good to say. The rooms are large, the grounds are beautiful and clean and the staff was very nice. Unfortunately that's where the good ends. I believe we got the same room as a previous reviewer, as the hallway Weather and the area were beautiful. We really just thought the room was a drag!

Room Tip: Building 1-7 or upper level rooms in 8-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Rooms are clean and spacious. Plenty of room for kids to play. Kitchen is very nice and fully equipped. Having two full baths is very convenient especially with two kids. There is no view from our unit since we are on the first floor. Hotel is close to everything (you have to drive to the beach though, but it is only a couple minutes away). Indoor pool and hot tub are nice and clean. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd or 3rd floor unit if you want a view. Some rooms don't have washer/dryer (there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.