We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Motel

Blue Horizon Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Horizon Motel
Save
You added Blue Horizon Motel to your Saves list
39 Mile Road, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We don’t know the area well, and the staff was very helpful with directions and even gave suggestions as to where to eat! Some great suggestions had a wonderful time. We stayed in what I heard the maid call the “main building.” The room was comterble, and it comes with a microwave and a fridge. The fridge was off when we got there, and it was clean! We turned it on and about a half hour later, we had a cold fridge. The bathroom was spotless, with white towels. Very clean room. There is a restaurant next door with almost the same name, and the food was awesome and not that badly priced. The service was excellent. I will be staying here again. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Small room and bathroom with only a shower stall. Refrig. and microwave included. Location and price ok seeing it was during prime season. We stayed the first long weekend in August. Did not spend much time in the room as we were in Maine for the beach !! Supermarket just a stones throw away. Restaurant next door is owned by the motel family and run by the daughter. The staff seemed stressed during the breakfast period as the place becomes very busy. Food was good and hot, but plan on staying 45+ minutes as serve is slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very nice people. Family owned and operated. It was older, but very clean and quiet. We stayed in the Castaway building. It was a little more money but the room is larger than the standard motel room which made our stay that much more comfortable. Just south of route 1, the Blue Horizon is walking distance to the beach (about a mile) and other local points of interest, including restaurants, mini golf and shopping. We wouold stay there again.

Room Tip: For a little more money a night, take a look at the Castaway building. The room is larger than the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Small rooms that have musty smell to them. The microwave and small refrigerator in room did not work. The TV was the size of a laptop and looked to be purchased about 10 years ago. To top off this wonderful experience the owner was very rude and sarcastic. She has no concept of customer service...she made us feel like we should be lucky she let us stay at this dump. No blow dryer, and you have a better chance of getting ice in the desert that prying it from the hands of this owner. Trust me, if the sign says Vacancy, step on the gas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Stayed here during low season and the area was very quiet. You can walk to the local theatre and a few restaurants, also the supermarket and laundromat , dollar store and pizza placeif you wish. Walking distance to the famous maine bargain store called Reny's! The walk to the beach would be about a 20 min stroll of almost a mile and there is no sidewalk so watch traffic if you are with children. I wouldn't walk it during high season with all the traffic.
The room was small, yes, but just as pictured on the website. A family would need to stay in the "Castaway" section but the older motel is fine for a single or couple. The bathroom is indeed TINY but we managed okay, it was just for two nights. Everything nice and clean and in working order, good screens on the windows, newer screen doors etc. The attached restaurant was fine for a quick breakfast. All in all we enjoyed this as a budget place to stay without landing directly on the main drag Route 1. It was nice and quiet and family run. Just what we expected for the price, which was a bit lower than everything else in the area except for a few dumpy looking places.

  • Liked — Clean and no-nonsense.
  • Disliked — Small bathroom and shower stall
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury,ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Arrived at motel and given a room in the original old building. Tiny room with an even smaller bathroom if that is what you would call it. It was like a closet with a toilet, sink and shower stuffed in it. You could barely move in the bathroom. I wish I had taken pictures. The shower was a tiny plastic square, you were barely able to move to wash. No place to even set a bar of soap, let alone anything else--unbelievable. Impossible to bend down. You literally had to open the curtain to bend over so as some of your body could protrude outside the tiny box in order to wash. My wife and I are not big people so that was not the problem. The toilet was stuffed between the tiny shower box and the wall. It was like wedging yourself in in order to use it. Add to this the sink in the same tiny space and you can see the ridiculousness of it all. Old cement block building-- musty smelling. Was suppose to spend three days there. After the first bathroom experience I went to see the owners and informed them that it was not going to work. They were able to give us another room in their newer building which is up to date and worked out fine. They actually charge more for the up to date rooms but I was able to get it for the same price. Beware before booking this motel. The pictures of the rooms are for the newer building, not of the old tiny rooms which is what you will get unless you know better. Very deceiving.

  • Liked — Beach just down the road
  • Disliked — Tiny, old, outdated rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Horizon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Motel

Address: 39 Mile Road, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Motel Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.