We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge

Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
Wells, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Wells
Type: Beaches, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Maine wildlife refuge also has a beach on its property.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Was a beautiful, very scenic forestry place. Very close to Tallwood Motel. Quick trip during day. Visited on our way to Kennebunkport.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    53
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A peaceful walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I really liked the scenery on this short walk. We were disappointed because we saw no wildlife. We will visit again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great small reserve with hiking. Beautiful grounds, plenty of birds. Great place to go to get away from the beach crowds and go back to nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Drive Past This...Stop and Take the Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

As it was getting later in the day, we almost decided to pass and drive past this beautiful refuge. Had we done so, we'd never know what we missed, but we're so glad we stopped. It is simply an amazing, peaceful place to walk and learn about the surrounding area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“need i say more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Racheal Carso in a name is famous and going to the preserve is something out of this world. It is a great place to connect with nature and God.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.