We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Waterville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Waterville to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Waterville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Kennedy Memorial Dr., Waterville, ME 04901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Filthy, paint pealing, lights that would not work, dirty bath tub- I'm so angry for not having checked out the reviews. I thought the chain was a good value chain- inexpensive but clean and properly run. This place is a dump and should be razed. Can't wait to leave and I just hope I don't have bugs going with me.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    10
    16
    17
See reviews for
17
7
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Kent, Maine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a friend who had a conference in waterville and decided to stay at the Econolodge in Waterville because it was SLIGHTLY less expensive than the other hotels in the area. Our door did not latch unless we threw ourselves up against it, the walls were covered in disgusting stains, the doors to the TV center were both busted out and laying in shambles, there was a broken Ice machine outside our door, the toilet did not flush properly, the bathroom door looked like it had been kicked in and then just reattached-it would open if you leaned on it and did not latch as well. The shower was also very dirty. Internet did not work although it said online that it would, and the staff were less than helpful.
The ONE perk we THOUGHT we had was a mini-refrigerator inside the room. One person put a drink in the fridge and we literally had to open the outside door and air out the room for almost 20 minutes. The fridge was empty- the machine itself was rotten.
Absolutely disgusting. Pay an extra 30-40 bucks and go stay at the hampton. At least you won't be afraid to shower, there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room was not cleaned very well, cobwebs in the corner. Overall impression is nothing has been updated in a long while, including bedding. This was the only motel available in the area and I can understand why. When we checked in, which was in the evening, the breakfast area hadn't been cleaned from that morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Simply put, best to pass on this property if at all possible. Chose the property only because of location on our route of travel and very much regret the decision, even for the redemption of Choice Points. Rooms were not ready at check in, no functioning Internet, no functioning ice machine on the property and the heat would not shut off which caused us to run the air all night to keep from being too warm. Only positive thing I can say about our experience there was the Burger King next door allowed us not to even have to try the breakfast. Very sad.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were travelling to Nova Scotia from Ontario and going through Maine, hoping to stay in Bangor Maine, first week of September. There was a concert in Bangor, and no rooms. The Bangor hotel reception got us a room (last one) at Econo in Waterville. We had to backtrack 45 minutes to get there. The reception said she would give us a deal because the phone did not work and not to worry if the taps leaked. Actually, the TV did not work either; there was no phone; it was a king size bed that barely fit the room; there was a leak in room across the hall resulting in furniture in the hallway; there was a definite unpleasant odour; there was a bin full of garbage directly in front of our window in the parking lot. We slept fast and got out of there early, no shower, no partaking of any food and tried not to move as we slept, in order not to disturb any unknown creatures. We even considered sleeping in our car to avoid this experience, but didn't.

Room Tip: no tip. Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This motel has a good location but it is seriously run down and consequently very overpriced. WIFI does not extend to the whole complex. The continental breakfast was the simplest I have ever seen. There was no bread even for toast.
The yard is littered with junk, there was even a broken down cooler beside our front door. There was even a broken TV in our room beside the one that worked. Repairs have been done to the interior of the room but have yet to seen any paint. I assume this was good room because the place was far from full.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because it was late and we just needed a place to crash. It was a very basic room, but everything was run down and dated. The desk clerk wasn't even sure we would be able to get the door open. It was way overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Waterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Waterville

Address: 455 Kennedy Memorial Dr., Waterville, ME 04901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Waterville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Waterville 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Waterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterville Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Waterville Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Waterville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.