We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local Favorite... very busy place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ming Lee Chinese Restaurant

Ming Lee Chinese Restaurant
365 Main St, Waterville, ME 04901-4924
207-873-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Waterville
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A local Favorite... very busy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'm from out of town, but I would definitely stop there again. I've been going to all-you-can-eat Chinese buffets for so long, I forgot how nice a regular Chinese restaurant can be. I wouldn't say the atmosphere is exceptional, but it is very nice. I was there on a Sunday night around 7 pm. The place was almost full, and the phone kept ringing for take-out orders every 5 minutes. My mother always says, a sign of a good restaurant is if the parking lot is full... which it was.

They serve Mandarin and Szechuan. I ordered Rice Noodles with Shrimp. It was served quickly and it was hot. The dish was delicious. They didn't skimp on the shrimp. The food was fresh. And there was so much of it, I took half home and had another meal out of it. The waitstaff is friendly. The prices are reasonable. I saw one couple with a Pu-Pu Platter... hadn't seen one of those in ages.

My GPS told me about Ming Lee when I searched for someplace to eat but, my nuvi left me stranded in the middle of Main St., and not letting me know if it was on the right or the left, and I couldn't see it anywhere. So I took a left onto Armory Rd, planning to turn around, and there was Ming Lee right in front of me (around 80 Armory Rd.). It's in back of Advance Auto Parts, under the same roof.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This restaurant has been welcoming local families in the Waterville area for many years. I am disappointed to see how few of the customers have failed to write a review, leaving the actual best and most friendliest restaurant in the Waterville area "second best" on trip advisor! The food is cooked fresh, as it is ordered. I have not tried this Jin Yuan, and have no reason to. Ming Lee leaves my entire family satisfied, from price to portions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Why the MSG for me?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you know the health risks of MSG, please read on. For years, literally, I have been frequenting Ming Lee and always ask for no salt and no MSG. Well, one of the dishes I usually order, an L10 (Szechuan Spicy Chicken), has MSG in the Szechuan sauce they use. I do not understand why for years when I ask for no MSG they would use a sauce that has it. One of the employees told us that a woman recently asked for no MSG with the L10 and was ill after because of said sauce. The cook now tries to improvise the sauce on that particular dish for those not wanting MSG, but only after someone was sick. So, I feel a bit cheated, thinking that I've been in fact eating MSG every time I went there, even though I asked specifically for none. Supposedly it's just the L10 and one other or so dishes that have it (even after asking them to not use it, otherwise all dishes do), but please make absolutely sure if you are concerned about what you eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been here three times, and each time I have enjoyed my meal. They serve large portions for a reasonable price. Some of the dinner combinations on the menu seamed a bit strange, but I would have to recommend the orange chicken and the beef teriyaki. The beef teryaki was definitely my favorite

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good "Americanized" Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Anyone who enjoys Asian cuisine knows there are different typesand styles of cooking. Ming Lee has dishes that caters well to the American idea of what a chinese restaurant should be. The food is very good, I recommend the General Tso's chicken and crab rangoons. Their cocktails are delicious as well. The building the restaurant is in is old and showing its age, but overall great meal for the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming Lee Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ming Lee Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming Lee Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.