We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins
Save
You added Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins to your Saves list
700 Norway Rd. Rte. 118, Waterford, ME 04088   |  
Hotel amenities
Southern Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

With a cold and wet weekend in store for us, Papoose Pond managed to keep the kids entertained. It is definitely a family spot. Some prices are inflated but there are values as well. Definitely will return if we have young campers again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papoosepond, General Manager at Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We would like to thank you and all the other families who braved the cold wet weather while camping with us during Memorial Day Weekend. We always try to provide quality entertainment, however nothing beats a warm sunny stretch of weather while you are camping. We know you have many choices when it comes to camping in Maine and we are glad that you chose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family have been going to Papoose Pond for almost 20 years. We love camping here. The pond is beautiful, the activities made my childhood visits here memorable. It is such a wonderful place to stay and visit. I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family of 6 visited and stayed in one of the cabins. This is a fabulous campground. The lake is crystal clear. Every night there is wonderful entertainment. It is a great place for a family vacation. It exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from our second annual stay Papoose Pond. We reserved a tent site there last year after Hurricane Irene, and had an amazingly fun time with the kids (now ages 3 and 7), so we decided to reserve the same site again for this year. Check in was a breeze, and we arrived to our spacious site that had been raked and cleaned from the previous campers.

Since it was the holiday week there were plenty of activities scheduled for the kids, and for families. Some of them were kiddie soccer, volleyball, kickball, capture the flag, tie-dye t-shirts and more. There are a wide variety of campsites available as well, so if you are into tenting, cabins or RVs, there is most likely something that will suit you.

The staff is very helpful and friendly, and there is security during night hours to keep the extremely loud campers and those misbehaving in check.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a blast at this campground. We rented the sites that have an overhang, outdoor stove and kitchen area with a full bathroom n shower attached. It was great to keep the mess outside the camper for a change! Nice selection of activities, a heated pool and water sports (non~motorized) galore. Staff was friendly and always went the extra mile for you. We are already booked for next year!!!
Ohhh...Be sure to bring your citronella candlea and your bug spray..to keep the flies n skeeters at bay.
We camped in a travel trailer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Another great week at the 'poose. The kids spent most of the week in the pond, but there are other great activities for the kids, as well. This is a great place for families of all ages. We hate to see the week end and look forward to returning next season

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a week at Papoose Pond with our 14 year old daughter. We wouldn't have stayed the whole week but we were too lazy to pack up to move and we had other things to do in the area. On the plus side, Papoose offers huge, pretty wooded sites which is the main thing to us. On the downside, we were in site 33 which is right next to the very busy road that the campground is located on. Tractor trailers going by in the morning sounded like freight trains through your living room. If you are going to camp here, and I suggest doing so only if you have young children as everything is geared to them, then definitely pick a campsite as far from the road as you can get. There is a lot of noise in the campground from all of the kids as well as the carousel which isn't too annoying, but the place feels quite commercialized. The pond is that, a pond, so if you're expecting a lake it isn't really that. We had our kayaks and paddled around the perimeter of it in a short time. Bathrooms were clean, showers were great and so were the staff for the most part. Make sure you take bikes for the kids at least as everything is quite spread out. If it were not for the 30% off special they had for the week we were there, we certainly would not have paid the regular price to stay but it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins

Address: 700 Norway Rd. Rte. 118, Waterford, ME 04088
Location: United States > Maine > Waterford
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Papoose Pond Resort And Campground
Papoose Pond Resort & Campground Hotel Waterford
Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins Waterford, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papoose Pond Family Campground & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.