We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Lake House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
686 Waterford Road, Corner of Rt. 35 & 37, Waterford, ME 04088   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Waterford B&B and Inns
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My 12 year old son and I stayed one night here while in the area to pick up my other son from overnight camp. We had a wonderful time, and were pleasantly pleased by the Inn and the owners. We found the inn very comfortable and quiet. The owners were very nice, helpful and accomodating. I would stay here again the next time I am in the area.

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Lakehouse this weekend. It was just the getaway we were looking for. In our busy lives in Manhattan, we never get time alone together and this is just what the Lakehouse gave us. It felt like we were the only guests in the inn. The hosts/owners never hounded us. They were helpful but gave us the privacy that we needed. It felt like we were at home. Even the dining room where the owner serves her culinary delights was homey, but still so romantic...and better than anything we've ever been able to conjure in our own kitchen. When we were down laying low we enjoyed the local hiking, kayaking, and beautiful mountain scenery. We definitely recommend paying the extra $30 a night for the waterford luxury sweet, not only is there a full bath, but there is also jacuzzi in the spacious bedroom, and access to a upper level porch. Do yourself a favor and unplug your iPhone (dont worry there is wireless access, just limit yourself to one email session a day!) and enjoy the quiet for once!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Do not stay here -- it was absolutely filthy! Not sure how the main house is, but we were in the "annex." The carpet leading up to our room was soiled and ripped. There were dirty plates and half empty soda bottles laying in the hallway all three nights we were there. Apparently no one cared to clean it up. Our room had dust and cobwebs in the corners. The TV wires hung down from the TV accross the bed my son was sleeping in. The lock on the bathroom broke and the iinkeeper said he would fix it but never did. I looked for the innkeeper at around 2:30 pm to ask him for some assistance with local activities. His child (who was busy painting the inn) advised me that he was sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stay at this B&B a few times a year and it has improved tremendously since the new owners have taken over. It's a pleasure to stay there. Don and his wife are very accomodating and really make an effort to ensure their guests are comfortable. The location is a lovely and classic old Maine Inn!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

It was lovely weather. The room was comfortable with nice bathroom amenities. The heater worked fine. it was quiet as we stayed in the carriage house addition. There was little or no service on check-in, although it was possible to check-in early. No one offered to help with bags; the stairs were quite steep. The breakfast was completely ordinary. Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 9:00 AM. I had the impression this was non-negotiable, so if your plans don't dovetail with that, you are out of luck. I found it surprising that the owner? host? seemed indifferent to the guest(s) as it were. Have not dined in the restaurant. The menu appeared to be complete with some tasty entrees. The actual dining room looked quite plain with no sophisticated touches. I noticed abundant flowers growing outside. Bunches of those could have looked wonderful in that dining room. The village is quite pretty, however, and the Inn is an option if you have reason to be in Maine. I checked out Marta's (closed). The closest place to get a coffee is in Norway. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Lake House is in picturesque white clapboard village of Waterford, Maine, near several state parks, numerous recreational lakes, and the White Mountains.

The proprieters are very friendly and provided plenty of brochures, maps, and helpful advice for activities in the area (we chose to hike on the Appalachian Trail at Grafton Notch State Park and then do the car drive up Mount Washington in New Hampshire).

Lake House also runs a restaurant that is open for dinner, with EXCELLENT food. If you plan to stay at Lake House, reserve in advance so that you can take advantage of this wonderful cooking. It may just be the best meal you'll ever eat! Even if you do not stay at Lake House, it is worth driving to Waterford to eat there.

Why only an average rating? Well, while the location and the restaurant were great, our room was just a generically "quaint" B & B room with a somewhat squishy bed. In addition, because the Inn is located near the intersection of two roads, there was intermittent traffic noise that sort of spoiled the 19th-century-village feeling.

Finally, given the price we paid for our room, and the expectation set by the fantastic dinner the night before, we were thoroughly disappointed by how ordinary, even boring the breakfast was. There was not even a choice of entree, they just served us all the same thing.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lake House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 686 Waterford Road, Corner of Rt. 35 & 37, Waterford, ME 04088
Location: United States > Maine > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Lake House b&b
The Lake House Hotel Waterford
The Lake House Bed And Breakfast Waterford, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.