We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Edge Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breede River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Edge Accommodation
Save
You added River Edge Accommodation to your Saves list
Farm Tierkop, Breede River 6858, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Breede River B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The setting at River Edge is perfect- the views from the cottage are breathtaking; the pace of life slows down here allowing tranquillity and calm to seep into your soul. We enjoyed 3 nights here- it was a birthday break and much needed getaway from a very rushed and busy life. Our cat and African Grey parrot joined us- the African Gray loved sitting on the porch watching the river and birds. Our cat bravely wondered down to the river bank and enjoyed the luscious grass. We braaied every night and our days were filled with peaceful tranquillity- little cellphone reception meant disruptions from the city were minimised. Soaking in the Jacuzzi on the deck was a highlight and perfected the whole experience. Accommodation facilities are perfect and clean- I would only recommend better quality dishwashing liquid (or take your own). The privacy afforded us was unmatched and appreciated. From making the enquiry via the web all the way through to our check-in, the communications were always friendly and efficient. It was just the break we needed. We will definitely be back and look forward to inviting friends to join us next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for the much appreciated review! We changed to another brand dish washing liquid! Thanks again for the tip! We would love to welcome you on the farm again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited during the last week of September with our two kids and we loved it. We spent the week in Joubert House. I agree with reviewers who say that it looks just like the pictures on their website, as it really does. The cottages are spacious, beautifully decorated, the kitchen very well equipped, linen and bath towels all in mint condition, the full dstv was a bonus in the afternoon with tired kids, the Jacuzzi a great hit with those same kids and the views were spectacular. We went on several trail runs on the farm and the keen stand-up-paddle boarders in the family spent hours on the river right in front of the cabin. We will therefor definitely return soon.
However, there were one or two less positive issues. We chose to not address them with the owner while we were staying there, as we hate having other people in our space fixing things while we are trying to relax on a holiday and we were not planning on going anywhere so as to avoid people attending to the matters. While I am positive they would have been addressed at the time, I am not a fan of the fact that we were the ones left to have to report them or that they existed in the first place. I have mentioned these issues to the owner in an e-mail and I am sure he/she will respond.
The first issue was the fact that we were woken by birds in the roof at 6 am every morning. They obviously had chicks, as it sounded like a flock of them in the roof, so there was no sleeping in on any of the 4 days. Not much one can do about it once they are already ín the roof and we did mention the situation to the owner's father on our departure. I understand that it is difficult to keep them out, since the walls are built from rough stone and small openings are inevitable near the roof, but surely there has to be some way to prevent them from entering to lay their eggs there in the first place? Waking up at 6 on a holiday is no fun at all.
Also, we cooked suppers and the door of the oven could not seal properly to keep the heat.While we love a braai as much as the next person, we had a few special occasions to celebrate while we were there and preferred not to braai.
On our last night there was a very heavy storm and we were kept awake by either a loose roof sheet or a branch continually hitting the roof right above our bed. had this happened on the first night, we would definitely have mentioned it as the noise forced us out of the room for the night.
These are all, however, maintenance issues that are easily addressable.
We therefore would go back there again- maybe in the summer when one can swim in the river, as we truly did have a great holiday on the farm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I appreciate your review and that you pointed out the maintenance issues. We are trying an extending foam product that seals all the gaps so that the birdies can't nest in our houses. The loose roof plates were also sorted out. Glad you could spend quality time with the kids. We would like you to return to River Edge soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just want to share our experience at River Edge. Was visiting Joubert huis 8 - 10 September 2013

The view in the morning when you wake up, the beautifull calm river just in front of the deck, the braai area and jucuzzi is just absolutly breathtaking!

All the decor in the kitchen, rooms, and living area is like a 5 star guesthouse!!

As well as all the equiptment in the entire house was available, and was not a struggle to find anything.

Absolutly nothing wrong with anything!

Will DEFNETLY visit soon!!!

WELL DONE!!

Regards
Martin Botha

Room Tip: Any one of the 4 cotages is perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Manager at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for the complementing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just came back from river edge, and it was a fantastic experience.
We go looking for relaxing out of town getaways quite often, and this was one of the best. Even though it is a working farm you still get that wild mountainess away feeling. Also, unlike other places, it really does look like the photos on the website.
The hot tub takes longer than you think to heat up, so just speak to the owners so you know what to expect.
If you have any questions, the owners are quick to respond and help.
I am looking forward to going back
Great hot tub, perfect fire place, and super comfy couches and bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Manager at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. Yes unfortunately Jacuzzis take a while to heat up. We clean the tubs the morning prior to our guests arrival and start them as soon as they are filled. This take at least a few hours. Fresh mountain spring water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The perfect place for a special occasion... with the river on your doorstep, surrounded by mountains and vineyards, River Edge Accommodation truly is unique. Whether you are a city slicker looking for some much needed R&R or just a romantic break away - River Edge will always be my first choice...we have stayed here more than once and the idea of staying on a working wine-farm offers a special charm. We have already booked our cottage for New Year 2014. We can't wait! If you are looking for room service and air-conditioning this is not the place for you, try Sandton! We have stayed in all the cottages except Coetzer House, each cottage offers its own look and feel. My favourite spot is the sunken Jacuzzi on the rustic wooden deck overlooking the river, watching the sun go down with a roaring fire in the background! What more do you need. We try not to turn the TV on, but if you must, the cottages offer TV's and DSTV for those TV addicts who need their fix for the day. We play games, go for walks, swim in the river, make use of the river boats or just spend some quality family time together. After 2 days on the river you feel like you have been on holiday for a week, BLISS! We will see you soon.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment! Great family get-away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for reviewing River Edge, Benjamin house. It was a pleasure having you as our guests on the farm. We appreciate the fact that you left the house squeaky clean!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A story book picture - this is the way to describe River Edge.

Far away on the gravel road you spot the little stone cottage. As you get closer you start to fall in love with this little "Hansel & Gretel" house.

We stayed in the Benjamin cottage. A lovely cottage with luxuries. We made use of the fire place every night and the Jacuzzi was a great special treat.

It is so beautiful with amazing surroundings. We really had a great time relaxing, spending quality time and just enjoying every moment.

The hiking trail was breathtaking with beautiful views of the Breede River. The canoe was an exciting experience on the river.

A tip... the birds in the morning are your wake up call to start the day.

We stayed for two nights and wished that we have had booked another night.

We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. The area are planning a hiking trail. Will post info as soon as it is available from the Tourism Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided to get out of the city as a family for the school holidays. We had heard from friends of these lovely "shabby-chic" stone cottages with decks reaching to the river below and only 1.5hrs drive from Cape Town. Our time spent on the farm at River Edge was the best 4 days we've had in a long time! Even though it was winter, we had great weather. The kids were outdoors all day even though our cottage had DSTV. We had our own canoe and little rowing boat, we hiked to a picnic spot next to a mountain stream, did some wine tasting at the neighbouring wine cellars and even soaked in our jaccuzi :). We appreciated all the small touches of luxury while also having all nature has to offer literally on our door step. We'll definitely take "time-out" in the Breede River again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelgard74, Owner at River Edge Accommodation, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Reviewing Jan Albert house is certainly helpful to potential guests. Thanks for that!! Looking forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Edge Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Accommodation

Address: Farm Tierkop, Breede River 6858, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Breede River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Breede River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Edge Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.