We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast of champions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody's Diner

Moody's Diner
US Route 1, Waldoboro, ME 04572
207-832-7785
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Waldoboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Wilmington, Vermont
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Breakfast of champions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located on Hy. 1 in Waldoboro, ME, this place is both historic and a favorite of locals and travelers. The breakfast menu covers everything you could want, and the service is charming and attentive. Make sure you visit the gift shop. I own 2 "When I get hungry, I get Moody" tee shirts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    98
    50
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recommend this place to anyone. It's a institution that's been there since the 30's. Been there a few times but not since the mid 90's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greendale, indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finally, a visit to Moody's Diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My friends and I were looking for a place for dinner after spending a rainy afternoon driving around the coast when we found Moody's Diner. We entered and found ourselves in the 1950's and at the end of a long wait list. Upon being told that we could seat ourselves at the counter if we did not want to wait for a booth, we did just that.
Moody's menu goes on and on, but I settled on a Reuben sandwich. It was delivered promptly, especially considering the crowd at the time. The sandwich was good and filling, nothing fancy. Watching the pies being cut prompted us to order dessert. Good move for everything except our wastelines! My slice of peanut butter pie was luscious.
Moody's Diner is a small place, with small booths that somehow hold up to 4 adults. Seating at the counter will quickly turn strangers into friends, provided one of them is not left handed! I am, but fortunately I was seated at a corner.
Moody's Diner is not going to be everyone's cup of tea, but the food is good and the prices are great, especially for limited wallets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Maine Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A real great Maine diner experience. If you are looking for gourmet food this is not for you, the food here is greasy, full of butter and tastes like typical diner food The dessert is the real treat of this quaint stop on route 1. They have a large selection of homemade pies, my favorite is the Peanut Butter Pie. They also carry large cookies, cupcakes, cheese cake, and the famous Maine Whoopie Pie. I recommend skipping the greasy food and heading straight to Dessert! The crowd is a mix of locals and tourists and there is almost always a wait. Overall a great, fun, tasty experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I eat here a few times a year. Sometimes good and sometimes not so much. Seems to be going downhill. lost the diner feel when the big tv went in advertising local businesses. Starting to feel its age in a non charming way. Old wood, old tables, Formica counters, chairs look like office supply. Used to overlook it for the food. Ate again yesterday. Long cattle call wait for a table while newcomers did not know how to go to the counter and get a number. Usually the food is pretty good but yesterday onion rings were cold. Most things seem less homemade and more from a can. Little single servings of Ken's dressing. Prices used to be good but seemed to have crept up. I guess still worth a stop bu don't expect much. They seem to be relying on their old reputation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody's Diner also viewed

Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 
Waldoboro, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Moody's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.