We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Gawker

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harbor Gawker
26 Main St, Vinalhaven, ME 04863
207-863-9365
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Vinalhaven
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lobster, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This restaurant couldn't have been better situated, across the road from our motel. It was open after Labor Day, service was great, and the steamed lobster was amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Minimal Options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Dinner out choices were minimal following the Labor Day weekend and the start of fall hours. Imagine our surprise when we were told there was no steamed lobster on the menu. Lots of fried options -- looks like a popular place and I did have a lobster roll which was OK, but we'd had out hearts set on steamed lobsters.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Harbor Gagger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I don't give this a terrible, because my wife liked her clam chowder (I thought it was mainly rubbery steamer clam feet). And the setting was nice. My fish chowder had precious little fish, mainly potatoes (soft and crumbly presumably cooked in advance), two token shrimplets, and a some scraps of haddock. And pricey. Many of the customers come off the ferry hungry and will never be seen again, so why bother with better?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“something for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

went on a Friday at 1pm. Service was quick and it was not very crowded. By 2 the line was out the door and all of the seats were taken. Service was quick and the menu selection was enormous. In fact I would suggest you look at the menu, which is available outside, before you go in. It will take awhile to decide. Chowder was very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very family friendly plus great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent seafood chowdah and lobster salad with no goop, just the real thing. Lots of room inside for putting tables together for a family sit-down. There'll be NO complaints about the food or the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Gawker also viewed

Vinalhaven, Mid Coast Maine
Vinalhaven, Mid Coast Maine
 
Vinalhaven, Mid Coast Maine
Vinalhaven, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Harbor Gawker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Gawker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.