We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Lathones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Lathones to your Saves list
The Inn at Lathones
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   By Largoward, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathones B&B and Inns
Turnberry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I came here in February 2013 with my partner and I have to say the place is beautiful. Although we were in inches of snow, the whole trip was just an amazing experience. We were made feel very welcome and as we had arrived late (due to the snow) the chef stayed a little later for us as we had left home quite early and hadn't been able to stop anywhere for food. The room we had was lovely and warm, the massive comfy bed was amazing, the deep bath was totally luxurious and the staff were so polite and attentive. On our second day we spent the day in St Andrews and had a large meal - so when we came back we chose to eat from the bar menu which was a delight. Drinks are reasonably priced (expected it to be MUCH more expensive than it actually was!) I myself work for a 5 star resort so can be a bit of a 'snob' when it comes to other places but this was sheer bliss!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
What better praise can we get than from a fellow hotelier. Thanks for taking the time in writing a review
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    100
    41
    26
    14
See reviews for
39
195
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here for one night to see an Iain Matthews solo concert. The whole experience was excellent. Our suite was clean, tidy and very light. The four-poster bed was lovely (although a bit of a climb for my short legs!) and the sofas in the lounge area were very comfy - large enough to stretch out on to watch TV. The bar was cosy with a lovely wood-burning stove. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely return, for longer next time. The inn was full when we were there and I did not hear any complaints from the other visitors. I hope that the new owners will keep up the standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Ian is brilliant!, thanks for the review. we had a very busy inn which made for a great atmosphere
we have loads of great gigs coming up so please check out the web site
best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, South Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I booked a 3-night-dinner,bed&breakfast break at Lathones in October(2013).
The hotel was very quiet with only a few other guests, understandable, I suppose at this time of year. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious,clean and comfortable and the en suite was roomy with lots of hot water although it took quite a time to come through (distance from the boiler I guess)
The food was very good both at breakfast and dinner and the service was excellent.
One minor complaint, why no shaver-point in the bathroom?
A very pleasant stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for takling the time to write this review. I did own up to you about the shaving socket. I simply forgot them in the new rooms! We started putting adapters on the rooms to take shavers but they all went so we keep them at reception now
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a good base for St Andrews and the Fife coast. Unfortunately we were really disappointed with the room. The whole place looked neglected. Furniture looked out of date, scratched bare wooden floors, old TV, shower didn't work, windows ran with condensation and sash windows black with damp. Our room backed onto a cupboard which housed a central heating boiler which ran all night. On a positive note the bed was very comfortable and the staff were pleasant. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
There were a couple of strange things in the room - strange mock leather bands around the quilts and the large canvas homemade art work on the walls was depressing rather than restful.
All in all we just felt disappointed. I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I understand some of the rooms have been refurbished and assume the one we stayed in wasn't. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm sorry you didnt like the bedrooms. since we refurbished them 4 years ago people have either loved or hated them. The art work is all from our local school as we work with them a lot the art highers were given a project whch was these pictures as part of their higher qualificatin. Art is very subjective and we have had many very positive coments about them over the years. The bedrooms were always designed to be very european with light Italian furniture and folded duvets. We are this winter going to add some rugs and curtains to the rooms once they have all been decortated, so I hope thses changes will soften the rooms quite a bit
thanks for your coments on the staff, they are a great team
best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night last week and had a really enjoyable stay.

We booked a one night stay via www.itison.com at £59 on a B&B basis but we chose to pay an additional £40 direct to the hotel to upgrade to a superior room.

The hotel itself is very nice both inside and out. The reception, lounge and dining room are quite traditional decor wise there is a nice open fire in the lounge/bar but sadly it wasn't cold enough to warrant it being in use.

Our superior room was very modern in it's decor and almost quite stark - we thought it was actually too much of a modern contrast to the rest of the hotel and would have liked a touch more old fashioned / traditional styling along with the modern touches. This is obviously subjective though and you can't please everyone!

The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi bath and a large double-shower - very nice indeed. Out only one issue was that the wooden flooring in the room just before the toilet door squeaked like crazy when trod upon meaning a nightime trip to the toilet will always wake your partner up.

We both found the beds to be a bit softer that we are used to and my back was a bit sore in the morning because of this but again whether you enjoy a soft or hard bed is pretty subjective.

The patio doors in the superior rooms open out onto a large decking area and offer beautiful views of the surrounding countryside with loads of sheep wandering around just yards from the patio. There was no furniture on the decking at our end of the decking and we felt that it would have been good to have a small table and a couple of chairs outside each room.

We tried the TV in the room but the reception wasn't very good and the signal kept breaking up so it wasn't really very watchable.

At breakfast there was a selection of fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit as well as a hot food selection cooked to order.

My wife and I both opted for the full scottish breakfast which was very good (I particularly enjoyed the haggis) and with my wife being vegetarian they offered to cook her some Quorn sausages with her eggs, tomato, potato scone and mushrooms which was great.

All in all we would definitely recommend the Inn at Lathones if you're looking for a good quality hotel in the St Andrews area - well worth checking out especially if you can get it via a good offer.

Room Tip: We would recommend the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, the whole team really appiciate the positive feed back
best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've just stayed here for one night with my mum as a gift for her birthday. The whole experience was lovely from start to finish. The staff were friendly and helpful, both on the phone when I called to book, right through to when we checked out. We stayed in one of the smithy's rooms and it was beautifully furnished with a fantastically comfortable bed. Great nights sleep! We took the dog will us and she was very at home too. We had booked to go for dinner in St Andrews but in hindsight when I saw the atmospheric bar and good looking restaurant menu it was a shame we never dined there. Especially when the breakfast was very tasty and the restaurant was nice and relaxed. I would definitely be keen to go back again soon, especially with being so close to St Andrews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such and nice review
best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, this was not to be the case.

Whilst the accommodation appeared, on the surface to be adequate, standards had clearly not been maintained since our last visit - our room was worn, grubby with the shower requiring a good scrubbing.

The bedroom which we were allocated was adjacent to what appeared to be a laundry, and next to a kitchen extractor fan - the odours from which were far from pleasant.

The young members of staff that we met were very pleasant but appeared to be inexperienced and could benefit from appropriate training, as relevant to the hospitality industry.

Whilst we had booked for two nights we chose to leave this accommodation after one night.

No one questioned, queried or commented as to why we were doing so - has this happened before?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Its a great shame that the only time we have had guests leave a day early were the people who wrote the last review on the Inn headed "No longer 4 Stars" Its interesting that they feel it is ok to write a 2nd review under a new reviewer code when I have already answered, with honesty how we tried to look after these people. Tripadvisor should not be used like this by people who seem to have a real problem with the Inn. I would urge them to pick up the phone and talk to me as when they left early we had a very long discussion with them. Use Tripadvisor properly and allow it to be a good representation of a property!
Call Me
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Lathones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lathones

Address: By Largoward, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Lathones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Lathones 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Coaching Inn that has a name for being eclectic. It has won awards for service, great food, wine list, best small music venue in Britain, best small golfing hotel in Scotland, amongst many more. The Bedrooms are very modern in complete contrast to the age of the main house. The food is all locally sourced and has a modern European edge to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Lathones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lathones Hotel St. Andrews
Inn Lathones

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Lathones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.