We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY TIME!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Lathones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Lathones to your Saves list
The Inn at Lathones
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   By Largoward, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lathones B&B and Inns
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“LOVELY TIME!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here in October as part of my birthday weekend- we usually go abroad but decided on a staycation this year staying at 3 different hotels and we were not disappointed- On arrival we were shown to our room which is separate from the main building, it has a comfy bed and large bathroom. When Scott(general Manager) found out it was my birthday I was given a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and a bowl with very fresh strawberries and raspberries, what a treat!!!.

Breakfast is more than adequate and Dinner was nice too-one gripe that I think has been mentioned by others is that you are given a separate menu from other guests-but we found something on both nights to eat that we enjoyed. The Inn is approx 5 miles from St. Andrews, if you don't want to drive there is a bus which passes every hour across the road, you just flag it down which is great as it means we could have a couple of drinks while we were there. If you prefer you can get a taxi which is roughly £13.

I would recommed Inn at Lathone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thanks for the feedback its so nice to get people who love the Inn to take the time to give feed back. I have passed your kind comments to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    100
    41
    26
    14
See reviews for
39
195
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I have just stayed 2 nights at The Inn at Lathones using the Groupon offer. Fantastic value for money with fabulous, delicious food (really good sized portions) lovely relaxed ambience, all thoroughly enhanced by the friendly helpful staff. I cannot understand the negative comments from other people using the Groupon offer, what are these people wanting for the money we paid?? It was a delightful bargain as far as I am concerned.
Well done to all at The Inn at Lathones, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked using our Groupon voucher. No mention on voucher or when booking Saturday night dinner that we would be eating from a bar menu and not the full restaurant menu. We eventually upgraded to the restaurant menu at a cost of £15.00 per head. The restaurant food was lovely but left a slightly bitter taste !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
I'm somewhat surprised by these comments as the voucher cost value is £119 for two nights for two people. Once you take the vat off and then the 42% that Groupon take as commission this leave £32 a night for two people to stay on a dinner bed and breakfast package. The menus we offer this voucher are taken from the menus we are running in both the bar and restaurant so these clients only have a reduced choice not sub standard food quality. We have done over 1200 vouchers over the year and only had 8 comments relating to the menus. I hope this clears up this issue but feel free to contact the Inn if you are reading this and need more information as we will be delighted to discuss it further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Booked with a little difficulty on achieving any of the numerous dates we requested due to the fact we were using a groupon promotion. On arrival we were shown to a room facing a very noisy road even with the windows closed, The bedroom looked very cmfortable but the bathroom left a lot to be desired re its cleanliness. The staff were very apologetic and quickly changed us to a more acceptible room, I agree with the previous report that the rooms do reuire some tweaking /TLC however we slept in the most comfortable hotel bed ever. Dinner was ok but we felt short changed as we were handed a menu specifically for groupon visitors, although it did not actually say on our promotion that we would be offered an extremely limited menu with very basic choices The fayre other diners received looked mouthwatering by comparison. Unfortunately our first 3 choices of wine were not available yet again the staff quickly remedied this problem by giving us a suitable bottle at a discounted price. Overall this stay was worth the value of our voucher however we felt that all customers should be treated equally thus encouraging further visits.

Room Tip: one away from the roadside would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here for two niights on groupon pomotion which was great value. Room modern and clean could do with tv being placed somewhere else as you struggle to see it from bed. Food very good both nights resturant could be doing with a bit of t l c bit drab .The Stables function room would make a lovey dinning room it was set up for a whiskey tasting and meal for a dutch party lucky them , new staff need more training!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Booked in on a special promotion which was great value for us. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and accommodating. (Card left in room for my birthday and a glass of wine at dinner).the food is of excellent quality also served by friendly and efficient staff. The rooms were comfortable but could be doing with a little TLC. All in all a very pleasant stay. Thank you all.
Kenny from Glasvagas!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickW27, Owner at The Inn at Lathones, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a revue. We have had to keep the rooms sold to the voucher deals with only a basic room set up. Our rooms are modern and we have tried to make sure that we have offered real comfort in the beds, duvets and pillows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for four nights back in September with my husband. We could not have had a better stay. Lovely spacious, modern room with the nicest beds we've ever slept in at a hotel!
Great atmosphere, kind and very helpfull staff who made our stay even better.
We ate in the restaurant two nights and one lunch time....exceptional food. Wide choice on the menu so we felt we had to keep coming back to try more dishes! My husband is very into wine and could not fault the wine list.
We loved being so close to St Andrews and the staff were very helpful in informing us of all the local places to see and things to do.
We will definitely be raving to all our friends about this little gem we have found in Fife and have already re-booked for the new year!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Lathones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lathones

Address: By Largoward, Lathones, St. Andrews KY9 1JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Lathones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lathones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Lathones 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century Coaching Inn that has a name for being eclectic. It has won awards for service, great food, wine list, best small music venue in Britain, best small golfing hotel in Scotland, amongst many more. The Bedrooms are very modern in complete contrast to the age of the main house. The food is all locally sourced and has a modern European edge to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Lathones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lathones Hotel St. Andrews
Inn Lathones

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Lathones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.