We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, dog-friendly motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acadia Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Route 3, 952 Bar Harbor Road, Trenton, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Memorial Day Special
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, dog-friendly motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As previous reviewers note, this motel is on the mainland, just before the bridge to Mount Desert Island where Acadia National Park is located. We were looking for a dog-friendly place to stay that was reasonably priced, and were pleasantly surprised to find Acadia Sunrise. The price for a room with a fully-equipped kitchenette was amazing. Though sandwiched between Route 3 highway and the Hancock County-Bar Harbor Airport, the place was quiet for a peak-season property. We were able to drive down to the Acadia NP Hulls Cove Visitor Center in about 15 minutes, even during day traffic.
The room was very clean. The grounds of the motel are spacious, with a clean heated outdoor pool (my kids loved that!), picnic tables, propane grill, and lots of area for our pups to run. We enjoyed watching planes take off and land in the distance.
For those with internet devices, Wi-Fi was spotty in the rooms. We had to sit out by the stairs across from the motel office building to get reliable signal.
The kitchenette allowed us to do a lot of our own meal prep. An IGA grocery store is located about 100 yards south of the motel (convenient, but a bit pricey, so shop at the Ellsworth Walmart Supercenter located about 6 miles north of the motel).
We will use Sunrise Motel next time we visit Acadia NP.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are away from the highway noise; despite its proximity to the town airport, we rar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
33
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thank you so much for such a nice place to stay. It was very relaxing and great for us to make visits to my parents in Lamoine. Also enjoyed the pool and the fact that it was clean and warm even in ME weather!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed in August 2012. 7.5 miles form the park entrance. This motel is clean and cheap. Accommodations are dated and definitely showing their wear, but if your only sleeping here it is ideal. The owners were helpful and made many local recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Usually I obsess about making lodging decisions, researching numerous options and reviews. However, this was the first motel I found that accepted dogs, and because the reviews were so great, I booked it right away. It was just right for our two-night stay. The location was phenomenal for getting to Acadia as well as enjoying Bar Harbor. Since dogs can't stay in the room alone without a crate, we found a fabulous, affordable pet-sitter couple just 10 minutes away. Steve's Petsitting in Lamoine is just 10 minutes away, and they welcomed our dog and helped him be happy for the night while we went into Bar Harbor for dinner and a performance of Acadia Improve (very fun!). They had several dogs as guests, and all of them went for a long evening walk. He could have happily stayed the night for the same price, but we picked him up. We were glad we had a room in the back with a kitchenette for easy breakfast and lunch preparation, and the beds were very comfortable. We'll definitely be going back to explore more of Acadia someday and stay at the Sunrise. Why rethink a great thing?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We love Sunrise! This is a great motel with very friendly staff and clean rooms! We've stayed at other motels in the area, but once we found this gem we always return when our family visits Maine. We were just there in July and saw that a new deck was being put in around the pool. Always nice to see motel management that reinvests in the property to keep it ship shape! Looking forward to our next visit. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our kudos go out to the Acadia Sunrise Motel, its owner, and staff! We took a 2 week trip on a budget and drove to Maine from Southern IL. As a result, we stayed at several lower budget hotels. I really had decided that for the $50-70 you get what you pay for and maybe we would just have to look in the next price range up for our next trip. However, when we got to the Acadia Sunrise we were sooooo pleased. Our room was $64. It was a small room, but no smaller than the others we had stayed in for the price. My fiance works in the service industry and was so pleased with the cleanliness of our room that she left a tip for the housekeeper with a smiley face note! :) The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Again, KUDOS the the Acadia Sunrise and thank you from IL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were quite pleased with our room and Roy was very helpful and friendly. Our days were jam packed with non stop hiking and enjoyment, it was great to have a quiet place to shower and sleep!

Room Tip: We had a "queen" room that did not have any rooms over us...super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acadia Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Sunrise Motel

Address: Route 3, 952 Bar Harbor Road, Trenton, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Sunrise Motel is family-owned and operated right here in Trenton, ME. Since our family purchased it in 2009, we've treated every customer like they were a part of our family. The Acadia Sunrise Motel offers four variteties of rooms. - One queen size bed suitable for one or two guests. - Two double beds and a futon couch for up to six people. - Efficiency rooms on the first floor have two double beds and a fully equipped kitchen for four.- Efficiency rooms on the second floor have two queen sized beds and a fully equipped kitchen for four. We have a furnace heated swimming pool and guest laundry for long staying customers.Our family has been in the motel business for 16 seasons and we like what we do, offering people quality accommodations at very affordable prices. Our customer base spans the entire 16 years we have been running motels with families coming back every year to see us and moving from each motel we have owned to stay with us. For that we are truly thankful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acadia Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Sunrise Hotel Trenton
Sunrise Hotel Trenton
Sunrise Motel Trenton
Acadia Sunrise Motel Trenton, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.