We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but enjoyable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Timberland Acres RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trenton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberland Acres RV Park
Save
You added Timberland Acres RV Park to your Saves list
57 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average but enjoyable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Maine was exceptional. The campground is clean, well maintained but nothing to rave about. Staff was pleasant. Laundry facility was clean. The sites are not too close together but there seems to be year round residents with dumpy looking campers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are new to RV'ing (32' motorhome) and are still learning what we like in a campground. Timberland Acres has some, but not all. First of all, I love the discount they provide members (both active/retired) of the military. The campground itself is clean and spacious with easy to pull-into gravel pads with convenient access to water, electricity, sewer. There are two distinct areas; a wooded zone that seems to have exclusively seasonal trailers and an open area where motorhomes (including some really big rigs) are put. As their welcoming sign/advertising says, the owners/workers are very friendly (but DO NOT exceed the 5 mph speed limit!) and for the price, this is a good place to hang your hat/RV during a stay in the area. On the down side, they are the furthest campground from the Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, but are closest to all the amenities of Ellsworth. I'd stay here again, but only for a longer period when using it as a base to explore the entire region, not just Mt. Desert Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This quiet park makes a great big rig base to explore Acadia. The road thru the park is paved and the super long level gravel pull-thru sites will accommodate even the largest rigs and are easy to navigate. The 50amp full hookup pull-thru area has only small trees so no problem getting a view for your satellite. Campsites face in all directions, so if you want your awning side facing sunrise or sunset you should make a request when reserving a spot. Sprint 3G phone and hotspot work well. Free park WIFI worked fine but slow. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The bathroom and shower building is located in the upper section and is dated but functional. The laundry room on the main road is large and clean but the prices are a little high. Be patient when leaving the park entrance, it is on the main road to Acadia National Park and is very busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. Awesome campground with clean facilities, super kind staff, and great friendly neighbors. Pretty quite place to stay. I was with a group of friends and almost everyone that went by either waved or said hello. We totally would go back to this campground. We had full hookups but choose to use the bathrooms for the most part. Clean bathrooms are big for me and these showers were practically spotless. Thanks for a great stay. Can't wait to come to your area again!!!

Room Tip: We had sight # 190 right at the end of a row which was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were traveling throughout Downeast Maine for 2 weeks and stayed at many campgrounds. Unfortunately, this was not only the worst, but also our only unpleasant experience throughout our travels. While venturing into Acadia Nat. Park we would have preferred to stay closer to Bar Harbor or Southwest Harbor, but all of the other campgrounds were full. The campground itself is just "ok". The sites are small both for tenters and RVer's. Unsupervised children were running rampant throughout our area. For at least 3 hours, 4 boys were tearing up and down on the camp roads on bicycles and scooters, while screaming at the top of the lungs the whole time. This started (while we were there) late afternoon and went on till at least 7pm. There was noone up at the office to complain to and clearly the kid's parents didn't give a damm. We would not stay there again, nor recommend it, unless they start enforcing their own rules.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We're spending the summer traveling cross-country in a motorhome, so we've stayed at a few campgrounds. This was the worst. It was open, there were NO trees. The first site we were put in was dirty (tomatoes on ground) and soft. We moved to paved site (#210) where we were much happier, although I didn't like the camper graveyard behind us. The staff was very nice, though. It was a good location for exploring Bar Harbor. It was a little far, but it was cost-effective. Don't know if we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central FL
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights. Three of the nights were with a caravan of 19 rigs preparing for a Canadian Maritimes trip. The park is convenient and has plenty of maneuvering room. Check in is easy and the folks at the desk are super helpful. The check in parking is spacious so if multiple campers come in all at once there is a lot of room. The sites we're on are all very long pull throughs so there is plenty of room. The RV pads we're on are sand/gravel/dirt and the rest of the area is well maintained grass. Everything is level. The main roads are all paved. We'd stay here again. We were here in a motorhome.

Room Tip: Ask for site in the rear that is a pull through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberland Acres RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Acres RV Park

Address: 57 Bar Harbor Rd, Trenton, ME 04605
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Trenton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Trenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1985, our family has been welcoming summer guests to Timberland Acres RV Park. Time and time again, our guests parting words are "The sign is right! This is where friendly people meet!" We know that! We are right here everyday making sure our guests are having their best vacation yet. Many of our guests stay for the season! We try hard to enhance our services each year with new activities and events, new amenities, and fun special offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timberland Acres RV Park Trenton, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberland Acres RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.