We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, friendly b&b, with lots of thoughtful details.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Lantern B & B to your Saves list
Black Lantern B & B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   57 Elm Street, Topsham, ME 04086   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
new york
1 review
“Very nice, clean, friendly b&b, with lots of thoughtful details.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a nice, comfortable b&b with well sized, clean rooms. The common areas are also lovely including a cozy front porch and a back lawn leading to the river. The innkeepers are very hospitable and they provide a generous, tasty breakfast and willingly answer any questions about dinner suggestions or area highlights. Definitely a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the black lantern while on a business trip last month. The rooms were very nice and the innkeepers were top notch, friendly and warm and welcoming. The location was perfect for a nice walk to town and had a lovely view of the water. The Breakfast was spectacular , and the atmosphere more than comfortable. This B&B was very kid friendly. Our 9 year old son was along for our trip and was treated like their own grandchild. He asked when we could go back again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for a couple of nights when we were attending a college fraternity (not Bowdoin, but Dartmouth) reunion. Judy and Tom were very gracious hosts, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and there was a special breakfast presentation both mornings. We made new friends with the other guests . . . a young woman and her mother from Texas who was beginning her first year at Bowdoin, a couple from Seattle, etc. The experience was as delightful as the renunion. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We were lucky to pounce on a last minute cancellation - lucky indeed. This is a lovely place to stay at an unbeatable price, especially during the high season in Maine. Breakfast was fabulous -- fresh fruit, a souffle, omelet, chocolate chip muffins and fresh squeezed juice -- and Judy even gave us fresh green beans from her garden when we left! The view from our room was gorgeous (water and an old bridge). The bed was a bit soft, but the room was spotless and the breakfast company was lovely. I recommend it wholeheartedly (and I am from New York City..which means that I'm not a jerk, but I have pretty high standards).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My husband and I couldn't have been more pleased with our recent stay at the Black Lantern, our second in a year's time.

Tom and Judy C. are excellent innkeepers. They impress with their professionalism, friendly and open spirit, knowledge of the Topsham/Brunswick area and beyond, and willingness to assist their guests in planning a day's adventure. The B&B itself is lovely -- extremely clean and comfortable -- and perfect for a one-night or multi-night stay. We have stayed in Bedroom #3 on both occasions and are fond of its roominess, large bathroom, and lovely view of the Androscoggin River.

If you find yourself in need of a room near Bowdoin College, we highly recommend that you choose to stay at the Black Lantern! We eagerly anticipate our next visit there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had a lovely time relaxing at the Black Lantern. I should first mention the impressive breakfasts; the first morning we had a popover type of pastry filled with fresh berries and cream, a quarter of melon, and a small omelette. The second morning we indulged in cinnamon streusel bread, a fresh fruit salad, and a crustless quiche. The innkeepers are sensitive to special dietary needs and make every effort to accommodate them. A special treat was the chocolates we received each day in our room. Besides providing us with amazing food, the innkeepers were so helpful in helping us plan our stay. We had not planned much ahead of time, and Tom gave us tips on the best place to explore the Maine coast and the best restaurants in the area. Both Tom and Judy were great resources without being intrusive. I felt comfortable relaxing in my room and on a porch swing on the day my husband conducted business. We would most certainly return here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona013
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I was always comfortable and felt welcome while at the Black Lantern Bed and Breakfast. The owners were always very professional and took great pride in offering a top notch product which included both the surroundings and service. Staying there felt like being with friends. I don't believe that it would have been possible for me to find a better breakfast anywhere on the local economy and each breakfast was different for the week that I was there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Address: 57 Elm Street, Topsham, ME 04086
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lantern B & B Topsham, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.