We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and Inn Keepers Most Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lantern B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Lantern B & B to your Saves list
Black Lantern B & B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   57 Elm Street, Topsham, ME 04086   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Topsham B&B and Inns
oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and Inn Keepers Most Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I came to Maine and the Black Latern Bed and Breakfast to begin our 3 week tour of Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. We spent 3 wonderful days (Sept 14-16) at this B&B and found our hosts (Tom and Judy) to be exceptional at recommending interesting things to do in our area. We appreciated their kindness in allowing us to have relatives over for breakfast on our last morning with them. The bedroom we stayed in was spacious and the bed comfortable. The views out the windows were of the river looking over their manicured backyard. They have a wood walkway and dock that accesses the river. The breakfasts were the best that we experienced at the 5 B&Bs we stayed during our trip. I will always remember Judy picking the blueberries from their garden and making us blueberry muffins the next day and Tom gathering eggs from their chickens for our omelets. We also enjoyed the living room in this house to read the morning paper (provided) and sipping hot coffee. The Black Latern is located in Topsham but within easy waking distance (across the river) to historic Burnswick town and restuarants. We enjoyed the moring walks on the nearby by paved trails along the river. Our favorite place to visit was 5 Island Bay near Georgetown to have a lobster lunch (excellent recommendation from our hosts). You will be cheerfully greeted and well taken care of at this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and positive review. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a nice 2-day get-away at the Black Lantern and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tom and Judy have the knack for top notch hospitality - their home is warm and welcoming and the dogs are great! I highly recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night in Sept '12. Beautifully manicured property; nice indoor decor. Clean rooms. Lovely back yard with lawn furniture where you can sit and enjoy the lovely river. Fine breakfast. B&B is close (5 minute drive) to all the Maine action in downtown Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Restaurants, pubs, free college museum. New Amtrak train station. Gelato. Many choices for food and craft beers.

Comfortable B&B. Clean, hotel-quality mattresses. Tom and Judy do everything to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. There's mags and books and TV in the sitting rooms downstairs. No TV in the room we were in. Free wireless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Black Lantern B&B and had a wonderful time. Tom and Judy were so welcoming and accomodating we immediately felt at home. They were always ready to help us plan our days out in Maine with advice about the best places to eat all along the coast and ideas for good activities for a few hours or an entire day. They lent us maps, chatted with us when we wanted some company, and even offered to let us use their kayaks (they have their own dock on the Androscoggin River in the backyard). The rooms were light, airy, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Breakfasts were huge, filling, and delicious! We especially enjoyed sitting around in the garden after breakfast and on the porch after dinner enjoying the tranquility of Topsham. We wholeheartedly recommend The Black Lantern! It's great for families and couples too.

Room Tip: The Androscoggin Room is the biggest with the biggest bathroom and a river view. The Garden Room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Black Lantern is a sweet B&B with charming hosts who made us feel very welcome and served a delicious breakfast. We had the smallest room, but it was very nice. The bathroom was compact, but very clean. We also got excellent recommendations for travel in Mid-coast Maine from the owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedEye1
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Black Lantern -- comfortable, clean rooms, satisfying breakfasts, good location, genial hosts. In short, everything one could ask for in a B&B! I got good recommendations on where to do morning runs. Bathroom was a bit small, but everything worked great. We would definitely return if the occasion arises!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This B&B was such a pleasant surprise. I needed a place to stay during switch over weekend at my daughter's summer camp. The room was clean, attractive and spacious. We had our own bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was superb! My only feedback would be that I wish there was NO smoking allowed anywhere on the premises. They allowed guests to smoke out on the lawn but this was the same location of a few little lounge chairs where you might want to sit to read and look out at the river and so if a smoker was out there you wouldn't want to share the spot. Other than that it was perfection.

Room Tip: Grab a lobster on the Warf in Georgetown at Five Islands Lobster- best around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnelieJ, Owner at Black Lantern B & B, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I apologize for the delay in responding to your comment regarding permitting guests to smoke outdoors on the property. While we do allow guests to smoke outside very few do and we are sorry that you felt inconvenienced by one of our guests. We do have several locations with seating overlooking the river as well as seating on the porch and side patio to accommodate all our guests and provide separation when we do have guests who smoke.

Sincerely,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lantern B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lantern B & B

Address: 57 Elm Street, Topsham, ME 04086
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lantern B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lantern B&B an 1860 circa home located in the historic district of Tosham, has 3 bedrooms, all with queen-size beds and baths in the rooms. Two of the rooms have water views, the third has a gas fireplace. Rates include a full breakfast at a time of the guests' choosing between 7 and 9 AM. Walk to the many fine restaurants in Brunswick, less than 2 miles to Bowdoin College, 10 minutes to LL Bean and the shops in Freeport. No minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Black Lantern B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lantern B & B Topsham, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lantern B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.