We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 New County Rd, Thomaston, ME 04861   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thomaston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stonington, Maine, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. Rooms are always very, very clean. Beds are comfortable. The pool is great for our kids and the staff is friendly and helpful. If you are in the Rockland area, this is the only place to stay. I would have given it five stars, however I find the rooms to be expensive for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your strong recommendation as the only place to stay in Rockland, that is a high compliment. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Rockland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    80
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
63
68
16
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located off of Rt 1 near the town of Rockland. It is a short drive to the town, and the town of Camden is only about a 20 minute drive. There is an Applebees next door, an ice cream place across the street, and other local businesses nearby. Check-in was difficult as the clerk had issues processing payment. The room was a bit smaller than I am used to with Hamptons with an awkward placement of the microwave and refrigerator. We had to put a towel over the microwave clock because it was distracting while trying to sleep. The room was warm even at its lowest setting of 65 degrees. However, the room was in good shape and very clean. Breakfast was basic. Receipt of the bill the next morning showed that there was a double charge for the room and that our government discount had not been applied. The front desk clerks seemed a bit more knowledgeable this time and were able to take care of the charge issues though my credit card is still showing "authorized" from the hotel. Overall, we may return to this hotel in the future but would hope to see more knowledgeable and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feed back about the double posting of the room charge, we will be able to use this as a training element with our new Front Desk Associates. So glad you found the room comfortable and very clean. Thank you for staying with us while in Rockland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here several times but the most recent was particularly pleasant. Maybe I hadn't been upgraded to a suite previously but the room was large and clean this time. The local ice cream joint right across the street is a nice touch. The staff was courteous and ready to please.

Room Tip: Traffic noise isn't bad but there is a side away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your nice feed back. So great to hear you find the staff hotel courteous and ready to please. Happy you enjoyed the extra room in the King Studio Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All expectations meet. A very comfortable & relaxing stay. Took advantage of nearby restaurants and movie theater. Staff very courteous and friendly. Room material condition and cleanliness were excellent. Extra large shower a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, it is always great to hear. Glad you found the Hotel Associates friendly and helpful. We look forward having you stay with us during your next stay in the Rockland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful new hotel near Rockland, Maine. Location was a little noisy and it is not the most scenic because it is right on Rt 1. We didn't hear any noise from our room so it was okay. There are many places to eat close by and Rockland's downtown area was a short drive away. We would stay in this hotel again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As is typical of this chain, the hotel was very clean, furnishings not well-worn, staff prompt and professional. Our only problem was our family of three adults booked a "king suite" that was not really a suite, it's all one room and not even a very large room by American standards. The mattress on pull-out sofa was not thick/soft enough for a 68 kg adult to comfortably use. But the staff kindly provided a twin size cot as soon as the problem was mentioned. It was comfortable, but then the small space was really too small!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Glad we were able to make you bed comfortable during your stay. The rooms with Two Queen beds might fit your bedding needs better based on the comments you have shared with us. Looking forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Rockland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Gilead, NC, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice rooms very pleasant staff. But a bit pricey. Location was good. The staff was very helpful in making a suggestion for a great LOCAL restaurant and for places to visit during our business/vacation trip. The Maine coast is a beautiful area and we found the people very friendly. The wife loved the shopping at the little shops in downtown Rockland. There is a nice local ice cream shop across the street from the Hampton. Owls Head General Store has the best hamburger in the state as rated by the Food Channel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for telling us how happy you were with our terrific staff. See you on your next trip to the Rockland Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland

Address: 190 New County Rd, Thomaston, ME 04861
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Thomaston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thomaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Rockland
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland Hotel Thomaston
Hampton Inn Rockland
Hampton Inn Thomaston
Thomaston Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland Maine/Thomaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.