We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the negative reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomaston Cafe

Thomaston Cafe
154 Main St, Thomaston, ME 04861
+1 207-354-8589
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Thomaston
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Seafood, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
philly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't believe the negative reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I rarely submit reviews to tripadvisor, but I felt compelled to respond. Meals at the Thomaston Cafe are some of the best I have eaten in Maine, and I have to been to many of the more highly touted restaurants. The food is always fresh and delicious (especially the seafood and salads), the wine list is good though not extensive, the prices reasonable, and the service is efficient except when very crowded (which it sometimes is because it is a great spot!). Even with all the offerings in Rockland, Rockport, etc., we have become "regulars" and a number of our friends have become big fans as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped there with a group of friends, six all together. Everyone loved what they ordered , served by a pleasant wait staff. I got the haddock chowder which reminded me of mom's. My husband enjoyed the fish cakes. We also shared a piece of key lime pie that was as good if not better than any we have had in Key West.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Look, I don't normally go on sites like this and write reviews unless I really have something to say. So, with that in mind, this place is downright AWFUL. It's mostly the food that is my gripe, but the service was bad and the prices were just plain unfair, given the quality of the food. We were tourists in the area, and on a vacation, you hope to get great meals so you don't waste a meal with a bad experience. Restauranteurs should keep this in mind before they open up in a touristy place. By the way, if you aren't a yuppie, don't go here. It ain't for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly Underwhelming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overpriced and bland. Our waitress was unfriendly and inattentive, the coffee was definitely middle-of-the-road, and the food, though served quickly, was no-frills. My husband ordered a scallop & brie omelette, which consisted of eggs, scallops and cheese - period. This place counts on their quaint downtown location to make up for an entirely forgettable experience. Drive 10 minutes further to Rockland. You'll thank me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We waited a long time, the food was not good, & the service was terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We waited a long time. They were not particularly friendly. Finally we were seated at a table in a dark corner. There were flies, the food was overpriced & not good. They were out of many items & we ate at 12:30. We finally walked to the register as no one would bring us our bill. We were on vacation & very disappointed..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomaston Cafe also viewed

Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Thomaston Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomaston Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.