We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal on the waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Slipway

The Slipway
24 Town Landing Road, on the St. George River, Thomaston, ME 04861
207-354-4155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Thomaston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great meal on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After finally finding the restaurant we had a very nice experience. Our waitress was excellent & she was helpful w/our wine selection. We weren't familiar w/a lot of the wines, so we would suggest getting a few more recognizable wines. Our food was very good, not over the top, but very nice. We left w/T shirts & if we were ever back in Thomaston we would definitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
asheville,nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You need to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Local seafood cooked right, great view with dockside seating and bar, and the best pies, housemade by the owner-chef's mother-both locals to this beautiful, historical town on the coast of Maine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go to Waterman's Beach Lobster instead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The only thing better here is indoor plumbing. The food was average to good, but not special. The restaurant is pleasant enough and comfortable, but again, not special. Our waitress was very nice, but the staff was not generally welcoming. This place doesn't know what it wants to be when it grows up--fine dining or a lobster shack. The desserts, btw, are a standout as is the lobster bisque.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Scenery, atmosphere and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

What a niceplace to eat. We have been here a week and have eaten here twice. We love the sauteed mussels here. Ask for extra bread because you are going to want every drop of that broth! We have eaten several varieties of fried seafood. Nicely done without being greasy or overcooked. And the desserts! Save room! Our friends had tuna last night and were very pleased with their dish. Don't miss this place on the pier !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Time at The Slipway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were very happy with The Slipway, from location to food to service, all around a good time. I had the lobster roll which was very good (the only knock I'd give it is that it was a little under seasoned) and my dining mate had fried clams. Both of us really enjoyed our meals. We also tried two of their desserts - the blueberry pie and the flourless chocolate torte. Both were good although I think the flourless torte was the winner on this day.
A lovely setting, really lovely wait person and good food made for a pleasant Sunday afternoon. Would definitely recommend a visit to anyone traveling this way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slipway also viewed

Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
Thomaston, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Slipway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.