We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“c'mon folks, lighten up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surry Inn
Save
You added The Surry Inn to your Saves list
884 Surry Road, P.O. Box 25, Surry, ME 04684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Surry B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“c'mon folks, lighten up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We were here from 8/4 to 8/7, and also on our honeymoon 21 years ago. The plant and interior are pretty much the same as in 1987. It's still a very old building, with merely old additions, average sized rooms, small bathrooms, and unremarkable furnishings. No TV, no alarm clock, no free shampoo. No locks on the doors--you want privacy, latch a hook. In high humidity, latches are unnecessary, as some doors are really sticky. If you put your money down, you ought not to be shocked by this, although clearly some folks below were.

On the other hand, it overlooks a very pretty bay, with few obtrusive neighbors, miles from any other establishments. The rooms and foyers are quite clean and proprietress and aide are very friendly. Dinners are, just as they were 21 years ago, excellent, varied, and reasonably priced; remarkably, the same cook still works here. They still have the same canoe, too. If you want to get farther away than by canoe, Bar Harbor is a 35 minute drive, and Blue Hill 5-10 minutes the other way.

I suppose, at the rates offered, you could stay at a Best Western or Ramada Inn in Ellsworth. The self-serve breakfast there might even be quicker. If you want charm, come here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    5
    15
See reviews for
4
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

The Surry Inn should be renamed the Sorry Inn-- "sorry the place is so run down and sorry we will not return your deposit even though this place is nothing like we advertise". After driving several hours to get to this run down old house in the middle of nowhere, we were shocked to find a place in desperate need of housekeeping, paint, carpeting and general upkeep. We had made reservations for two couples for two nights and when we explained that it was in no way what was advertised on their website, we were met with an empty stare. Our deposits would not be returned under any circumstances. Based on some other reviews of the Surry Inn, we suspect this happens a lot and that is why they require a check to hold the reservation rather than a credit card that may give the customer more leverage (they cash your check before you arrive). Rather than stay and sink more money into this misadventure, both couples agreed to forfeit the deposits ( about $120 each) and continue to drive in the dark and rain in search of anything else. If you have no problem being the captive customer of an "Inn" in the middle of nowhere with few other choices this is your place. We cannot speak about their dining facility since we chose not to stay (there was a serious roof leak on the porch next to the dining room), but based on the run down condition of the place in general, I would not want to eat there.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Hard to say
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge,ma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

While this property is in need of some touch up painting it was clean and comfortable.The location is beautiful with a view of the bay and no noise from the road.Dinner was excellent and reasonable with a large selection of moderately priced wine by the glass and friendly and competent service

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — somewhat run down
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

The Surry Inn doesn’t lack of atmosphere, and the food is good; unfortunately though, they say that the breakfast is fm 8 to 9.15 a.m., but even if you sit at 8 you won’t have your breakfast until 9....really too long a wait for a simple breakfast.
Moreover its quite pricy if you consider the condition of the bathroom (our was a tiny very old one, we couldn’t have a proper shower because it didn’t work and “ sitting” was very uncomfortable).
The lady who welcomed us on our arrival was very kind but she wasn’t there when we left and the foreign girl who checked us out maybe didn’t understand us well and wasn’t able to give us explanations for an extra 12 per cent of service ??? added on the agreed price of the B&B plus taxes.

  • Liked — Evening dinner
  • Disliked — Restroom conditions.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

I had a very similar experience as the gentleman/other reviewer from CA. I sent in a deposit for one night, they cashed it (no confirmation, although I sent an email address) and said I must stay for two when I got there, and after a well-meaning desk attendant said he'd correct it the owner overruled him and said if I don't stay and pay immediately for two nights he'll not let me stay at all AND keep the deposit. I won't even go into the details of the extremely contentious "discussions" we had, but I had to alter my vacation plans since he had my $ and was threatening to keep it and leave me out.

As for the rooms and value, they were nothing great, and you could easily find a better place/value/experience at the many inns in the area.

I've stayed at lots of places in Maine -- and met lots of nice, accommodating, honest mom-and-pop innkeepers -- and never had as bad an experience as I've had here.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

Watch out for the Surry Inn in Surry, Maine, about 15 minutes from Bar Harbor. We paid $92/night for a horrible little room that was dirty, had torn window shades and bedspreads, inadequate lighting, etc. It is an old, historic building that has been totally neglected and needs a thorough cleaning and face lift. Also, they have a 10-day cancellation and/or leave early policy so when we left after 3 nights (had originally booked 4 nights) they kept our $92 deposit. In an otherwise great 2 weeks in Maine, it was a real disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surry Inn

Address: 884 Surry Road, P.O. Box 25, Surry, ME 04684
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Surry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Surry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surry Inn offers six rooms with private bath on almost three acres of beautiful Maine shorefront. Overlooking Contention Cove, the Inn is conveniently located between Acadia National Park and the Blue Hill/Deer Isle Peninsula. The Inn is an old-fashioned, country inn with ocean access and a spectacular view. The Inn's restaurant features local, fresh seafood, filet mignon, pan-seared duck breast and homemade soups, salad dressings and desserts. Breakfast is included with the room and is a full breakfast cooked to order ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surry Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.