We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Harbor
Save
You added Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
45 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Stonington B&B and Inns
Stonington, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed in the Mary Day for two nights... here on business, but have already planned to come back with the family. Comfortable rooms, down comforters, squishy chairs next to giant picture window looking over the harbor. Huge deck, helpful staff. Come to Stonington to take a deep breathe of fresh Maine air! Walked to Sand Beach, smelled the salt air & balsam forest-- absolute Zen moment. Only difficulty was trying to find a fork at 9pm... nothing was open or accessable... but that's island life:)

Room Tip: Great views from top or bottom floors, harborside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent two days there and would have liked to have spent a week. I have zero compaints...a great place. Comfortable rooms and a fantastic view of the lobster boats coming in.

No pool or fitness center but the scenery more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed in the "Hermitage" in the beginning of April 2012:

1- The inn has the best location in the town,right on the harbor and Hermitage is a second floor room with a magnificent view. I think it is the best room since it has the widest windows.
2- The room is clean and comfy with a king size bed,love seat,armchair,wood burning fireplace, WiFI and TV.
3- There is a common sunning deck on the second floor and a larger one on the first.
4-Very interesting to watch the harbor at high and low tides. You can google the times for the peak and lowest tide times for Stonington.
5- Room heating was fine for this time of the year.
6-- The stairs to the second floor are a bit steep. Get a first floor room if this bothers you.
7-Breakfast was very limited. Juice is brought out by the glass from inside of the inn. You have to ask if you need more. Same thing for the milk. Although we were the only customers that day, it should not cost much more to improve the offerings or the way things were presented. The Harbor Cafe across the road opens at 6 AM if you want a more substantial breakfast.
7- At the time we were there, the only open place was the Harbor Cafe. The "Seasons" restaurant that we intended to try was closed.
8- We paid $120 including the tax and breakfast. Best deal for off season.
9- I'll definitely recommend this place for the view although the owner should improve the breakfast

Room Tip: Get the Heritage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed in the Victory Chimes room harborside.
Room was nice..........nothing fancy, but nice for the type of hotel/inn and the area. Room has a king bed, a sofa/loveseat, fireplace, tv and wireless.

Only complaints:
* There is a desk in the room, but no chair. Have to sit on the sofa and lean over the whole time to do any computer work.
* TV - although the channel line up is great...........the TV is about the size of a computer screen and sits at the far end of the room. I realize that this isn't a Holiday Inn, but what about those rainy days and if you have kids with. Also, for the price i would expect a bigger TV ($112.00 off season rate per night).

Overall, a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our room was awesone, large with a working fireplace and amazing view. The price was great and we will definitely go back to the island to explore in season, however we will not stay at Inn on the Harbor even though we loved the room because the owner made us feel unwelcome and like we were an inconvenience. We were the only guests due to the time of year and even so she made us feel we were in her way, and was just plain rude several times. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stunning town, stunning harborview, stunning rooms. We spent three days in Stonington on the end of our honeymoon and stayed in the Stephen Taber room. Beautiful layout, and a nice private porch facing the harbor. If you're visiting Stonington (which you should) this is the place to stay. The only dilemma we faced in Stonington was whether or not to do things in the area, or to spend the entire day on our porch watching the boats!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

View from our room (Heritage Room?) just couldn't be better. Sadly it involved hauling our heavy bags up a narrow stairway ourselves, so if you're less than able-bodied---. Welcome was fine, but the breakfast was pretty dull baked goods with little real variety, and overall the staff/owbwer? was pretty low key.

I'd stay again for the view and because we really liked Stonington and the surrounding area. Restaurant a few doors away (Seasons?) was pretty good

Room Tip: Just get a harbour view room. Don't hesitate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbor

Address: 45 Main Street, Stonington, Deer Isle, ME 04681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle > Stonington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN YEAR ROUND Known for its unique charm and spectacular view of the Penobscot Bay islands, the Inn on the Harbor on Deer Isle offers a perfect romantic waterfront retreat. Built in the 1880s and perched right on the edge of picturesque Stonington Harbor, this bed and breakfast captures the very essence of Maine's Downeast island life. Ten of the thirteen individually decorated guestrooms face the sea and enjoy gorgeous views of Isle au Haut, the Windjammers and the island's fishing fleet. Guests can relax on the spacious flower-covered deck extending out into the harbor and enjoy the tide rising and falling beneath the Inn. They can fall asleep to the sound of nearby Mark Island Light's foghorn and wake up to the lobstermen heading out to sea. Several of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces and/or private decks. Our accommodations are relaxed and comfortable, all with private baths and sitting areas. The coastal atmosphere, with fresh salt air and brilliant sunny skies, encourages many of our guests to simply put their feet up and relax while watching Stonington's bustling waterfront. This is Maine's Downeast island life at its best. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.