We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Regatta stay at the Frog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frog at Skirmett

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Frog at Skirmett to your Saves list
The Frog at Skirmett
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Skirmett Rd, Nuffield RG9 6TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nuffield B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another Regatta stay at the Frog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my 4th stay at the Frog during Henley Regatta and I have to say that the hospitality from Jim and Noel seems to get better and better every time, if that's possible. The selection and quality of food and beverages is first class but pales into insignificance against the warmth of the welcome we received, nothing seems too much trouble and Jim and Noel made the experience very special.

This was my wife's first visit to the Frog and she really enjoyed it, we will definitely return!

John & Lynette

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to The Frog at Skirmett which is set in beautiful surroundings in the quaint village of Skirmett (hence the pub name The Frog - get it?).

We sat outside in their lovely garden. However, the fact that the kitchen had the windows to the garden and the chefs had the radio on quite loud was a bit of a shame and distracting - maybe think about that?

The Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc was cold, crisp and full of fruity flavours so that was a great start. However, the stale and dry bread they served should have stayed in the kitchen and been used for bread crumbs.,.

The starter - which we shared - was an omelette frittata with cherry tomatoes - it was delicious!

Mains:
The Fish & chips were really good. A large portion, well made and tasty.

The vegetarian pasta dish was nice but had way too much garlic in it - which was over powering (it contained large pieces of raw garlic).

Overall - it was a nice experience but some improvements could have made it better.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is one of the best pubs I have visited. It has all the ingredients that make a great pub. It is set in beautiful countryside, has a comfortable garden for warm days, has friendly and helpful staff, serves good beer from the local Marlow Brewery and serves excellent food as well. The seafood linguine is especially good. The pub is dog friendly and welcomes walkers too. I had a great pint of Rebellion to go with the seafood linguine on Wednesday 26 June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We will need to come back here to enjoy more of the menu. The platters as shared starters were great. A nice atmosphere. Stick toffee pudding to die for. lovely garden where you can sit and spot kite and deer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Seven of us ate Saturday lunch at the Frog. Unfortunately not everyone in our party could make it, having to cancel at the last minute so the restaurant staff decided to split our one large table into two. A justified request but the way it was made was bordering on rude and one of our party had to sit at the head of the now shortened table, without being given any cutlery showed a lack of care or customer service. The food itself couldn't be faulted, we ate 3 courses each and portion size and quality was excellent. The presentation of each plate was innovative. Would definitely visit again, just a shame about some aspects of the service.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stopped off for lunch here on the way to Chiltern Valley Winery - awesome traditional pub with good food, wine, coffee and service. All this in a beautiful location - spot the Vicar of Dibbley locations. The asparagus with poached egg and hollandaise sauce was to die for. Would love to experience more of the extensive menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Checked in for one night,friendly folk and welcoming. Room at first glance looked ok, but has big damp patches on the ceiling and walls
Bathroom was very dated and very worn out, bath, no shower. Chrome worn of brassware
£70 per night was ok if rooms sorted, food was great but expensive. Would I stay again? Possibly but would be for food , and not my first choice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frog at Skirmett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frog at Skirmett

Address: Skirmett Rd, Nuffield RG9 6TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nuffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nuffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frog at Skirmett 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Frog at Skirmett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frog at Skirmett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.