We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stopped here a couple of times...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Street Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maine Street Grill
1 Ossipee Trail, Standish, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Standish
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Conway, NH
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We have stopped here a couple of times...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

When traveling over to Portland from North Conway. We have found the food to be very tasty and nicely presented. This trip I had a bowl of chili that was excellent, and a luncheon sized salad. The greens were fresh and crisp, and the dressing was very good. The atmosphere is nice, the place was tastefully decorated. What keeps this review from being FIVE STAR was the service. It was slow, she was very scattered, the timing of the courses were off. We waited a little too long to get the check, then pay the check. I would encourage you to give it a try, it's right on Route 25 and very convenient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“4 tries= fail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I tried this place 4 times. The food is not good, in fact the avacado/spinach dip had so much lemon in it - it was too unpleasant to eat. The wait staff seems unaware of what is in the food and very inattentive. It is too bad as this is a very historical building and given the right chef/staff, it could be a hit. For now, spend the extra time to drive to Portland/South Portland. This place is a total disappointment. We gave it four good tries and it failed each and every time.
I also think the place needs a good, thorough cleaning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and the BEST Bloody Mary!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Have had brunch there a couple of times and the food was great. The bloody marys are wonderful..great tang of horseradish, but not too spicey! The bartender (also the owner, I believe) has a great personality and very knowledgeable about the area. Also has some great stories about the history of the building and Ghosts that are there. I didn't personally see them, but I quess several others have on different occasons.
We had great service and the prices were very reasonable. Would like to try it for dinner if we get back that way. Will write another review if I do.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Very Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have been here 3 times and think it's pretty nasty. At our last visit, service was terrible! We had a group of about 20 people and the wait was ridiculous! They only had one waitress for the group! It is worth the drive to go to Portland or Windham for better food!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Enjoyable atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very good service and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Maine Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.