We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Solitude, and Sea Air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsleigh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsleigh Inn
Save
You added Kingsleigh Inn to your Saves list
373 Main Street, PO Box 1426, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-1426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Service, Solitude, and Sea Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

Innkeepers Dana and Greg Moos provided the perfect combination for me to complete my latest novel. The fantastic service, immaculate room, cozy parlor complete with roaring fire, and view of the harbor from the porch could not have been more perfect. Without the peace and quiet of their lovely inn, editing would have been a nightmare! My husband and I enjoyed every second of our stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
150
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed here for a few nights in leaf season. Our room was immaculate, nicely designed, and bed was very comfy. However, the room was very, very small, to the point of being too-close-for-comfort and inconvenient, and not even the smallest room.

I've traveled a lot and have seen a lot of places and my assessment is more than fair. As much as I'd love to give a higher rating based on the hosts and food, I can't. I stayed here because of the positive reviews and overall, I was disappointed.

The room wasn't worth the price and we have no desire to return to the Bar Harbor area. We were very disappointed in the people, restaurants, scenery, everything. It was the worst trip we'd ever had.

If you like the area, and don't mind tight accommodations, do give this place a try because it has it's good points.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. myers, fl
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2005

We spent a wonderful 5 days at The Kingsleigh in mid-October. Breakfasts were wonderful and inventive. Dana and Greg always seemed to have time to visit...
We stayed in the first floor room, the Wellington, very private, and no stairs to climb!

We enjoyed talking with the other guests each evening in front of a wonderful log fire...

Hope to be back in a year or so...

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

Besides home, The Kingsleigh is our favorite place to be! Dana & Greg are wonderful people, the breakfasts & snacks are outstanding, the rooms are beautiful and the inn is very central to all of the beautiful Acadia hikes and activities. This year was our second visit to the Kingsleigh (under Greg & Dana's ownership) & it certainly won't be our last! The special "touches".....fresh flowers in the rooms, comfy robes, port & truffles and the friendliness of Greg & Dana make the Kingsleigh our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

My fiancé and I stayed 6 nights at the Kingsleigh Inn (August 27 –September 1) and we truly had a wonderful time. Our stay was so memorable we are planning to return in June 2006 to get married at the Inn, which is a tribute to how very special this Inn is.

Dana and Greg are naturals in their role as hosts and really enjoy meeting and accommodating their guests. Dana’s breakfasts were works of art and absolutely scrumptious; I am already looking forward to a few of my favorites next June. Greg was great keeping us informed about the weather and providing umbrellas for raining days.

We stayed in the Chelsea with the private deck. Our room was cozy, immaculate and quiet, even with the windows open all day and night. We enjoyed mornings watching the sunrise with the wonderful view of the harbor as well as at night gazing up at the stars from our private deck. We have booked the Kingsleigh Suite, the third floor turret room for our honeymoon, although all rooms are very nice. We thought the Inn’s location was perfect. It is located on the quiet side of the Island, but still close enough to see and do everything on the Island, as well as within walking distance to restaurants and shops in Southwest Harbor. The Inn gives you the feeling like you are at home, with all the attention to detail. After coming in from a long day, we always found Dana’s homemade desserts waiting in the dining room, in addition to the homemade truffles (yum) and port in our room each day. A small refrigerator is provided in the kitchen so you can store food and beverages if you choose. An espresso/tea station is also available 24 hours.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this Inn is. If you plan on visiting Mt. Desert Island, stay at the Kingsleigh Inn, you won’t be disappointed. I bet you plan your return visit before you leave!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

We had a great 3 night stay in a room overlooking the Harbour - room was very neat/clean. The hosts were helpful in giving us info. regarding the area and provided snacks and breakfast dishes deleting the nuts and/or chocolate in the entree that I couldn't eat and that consideration was most appreciated. We always enjoy mingling with other guests at breakfast and the charm of the B&B and the hosts was excellent. We would highly recommend the Kinglseigh and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

Well, can you? I would have said no, until our return trip this year. The inn continues to be impeccably clean, comfortable, and charming. The breakfasts are second to none. Chef Dana adds twists to dishes that make you pause and say "I never would have thought of that; yummy!" Innkeeper Greg is always right on with the weather and suggestions of where to visit and what to do around the island. I can't wait to see what they "cook-up" next year!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsleigh Inn

Address: 373 Main Street, PO Box 1426, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-1426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsleigh Inn sits high on a hill, overlooking the harbor in the heart of Southwest Harbor catering to couples seeking the comfort and charm of an historic home, myriad amenities of a boutique hotel and welcoming hosts to ensure a memorable stay on Mount Desert Island. Our rates include a 3 course breakfast with choice of a different sweet or savory entree each day, in-room Port wine with homemade chocolates, afternoon cookies, early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and all day coffee, tea and fresh ground espresso. We have private off-street parking, free WIFI, guest refrigerator with complimentary soda and bottled water, free guest phone (US and Canada), hiking sticks, books, trail guides and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsleigh Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsleigh Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.