We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great harbor view dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upper Deck

The Upper Deck
433 Main Street, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
(207) 244 8113
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great harbor view dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ate lunch here with another couple send sat outside on the expansive deck. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. Service was efficient and friendly. The seafood was fresh and lightly battered, the taco salad was huge! I would not recommend the clam chowder, however. It was very watery and had few potatoes.

The Upper Deck will be on our to do list when we return to Bar Harbor

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    17
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we arrived at the restaurant at 6pm, we were greeted by the manager and told we would need to be quick to be out by 7. Poor decision on our part to stay and eat. It took 15 min to get a server to the table, then she took 4 out of 5 orders and went to walk away before our 5th had given her her order and we had to call her back! Food was mediocre and pricey. We couldn't even get water glasses refilled. We will not be going back here, and suggest that you avoid this place - there are much better places to eat in Southwest Harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A 5 star view, it was downhill from there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is our first time in Southwest Harbor. We selected this restaurant only because it had parking, we were hungry, and we couldn't get internet access to check prior patrons comments. The waitress tried but apologized because she was new. We looked at the grimy menu which should have been a red flag regarding the meals they serve and how much management cares. We both had hamburgers--they were uninspiring. Expensive way to remember to check Trip Advisor first. We give the view a five and the rest a 1. Find somewhere else to eat.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great View, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Tip: don't order food, order a drink (bottled beer > their tap) and enjoy the beautiful view. The food was disgusting. We lucked out and got an awesome impromptu fireworks show, even after SW Harbor cancelled their fireworks. Unexpectedly awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Happened on this place while driving in the area and are glad we did. Great seats on the patio overlooking the Harbor. Good burger and lobster club with great fries and coleslaw. You can smell the bread baking! Very relaxing time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Deck also viewed

Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upper Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.