We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sips

Sips
4 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679-4410
207-244-4550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful food, friendly staff, and clean dinning. Grab a glass of wine and bowl or soup and sit back and relax. make sure to save room for their chocolate mousse, it's to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    91
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious, unique food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Atyipcal food for the locale (meaning that it wasn't focused heavily on seafood) and offered a wide range of options. Apple chevre (cheese) salad got 2 thumbs up as did the Mediterranean Haddock. Live music (blues/jazz band) was lots of fun. We weren't rushed from our table by the staff when the band started and our meals were finished. Service is a little on the slow side so enjoy a relaxing, no-rush atmosphere and terrific, quality food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Sips is a nice place. We did not partake of the coffee, but everything smelled great. Their happy hour is from 4-6 and all drinks except for bottles of wine are half price. They have a unique beer selection with beers from around the world, most of them I'd never heard of. Beers are normally 4-5 dollars each at regular price, so happy hour is quite the deal. We also did a couple of small plates. The scallop skewer is outstanding, though a little steep at $12. The lamb chop had some great greens and cheese with it and was excellent as well, though steep again at $12. With the beer value, the small plates were well worth the splurge. We went in three nights in a role and had a great time each night. Thanks to Shane for the outstanding service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Veggie club was good. Crepes too. Hummus and pita chips are great. Prompt and friendly service. Nice decor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“tasty, but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had dinner here with friends. Thought it was a bit pricey. Very good service - slow, but that was okay with us. Steak eaters enjoyed their filets, fish and pasta eaters were happy. Desserts were tasty ( fruit cobbler, chocolate torte). The place wasn't full, but it was very noisy - there doesn't seem to be much to deaden the sound: lots of wood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sips also viewed

Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Sips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.