We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sips

Sips
4 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679-4410
207-244-4550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Windsor, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a great night here because the waiting staff are attentive and make a real effort to really interact with their guests. There is no phoney welcome speech here. The food and beer were all very good for all our party and came when asked for. Best of all they had live local music on Saturday night.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    91
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stop in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great in town local spot. Really nice chowder at lunch.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lobster Caesar salad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

We wanted a nice glass of wine and salad and this place did both nicely. The spinach salad and Caesar salads with crab was a whole meal and we got a ton of crab. You can create your own flights of 2 oz "sips". Wine selection is fair. Would have liked a larger selection of calif and Maine wines. We would definitely go back!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I ran into a local hiking with her German Shorthaired Pointer on the Long Pond Trail and asked about lunch, and without hesitation she suggested "Sips". A tasty butternut squash soup, yummy humus were our lunch starters followed by my saffron asiago risotto and my wife's scallop crepe. All well made and fine service with a smile. If you need a change of pace from the bustle of downtown Bahaba you won't be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant and quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Looks like a bit of a hole in the wall from the small, side street front but has a sunny, clean, and contemporary atmosphere usually peopled by locals and tourists alike. Food is not real quick but is fresh and tasty. Soups are always inventive and sandwiches are perfect. We have had several breakfasts here and they are usually a bargain with the "usual suspects" in addition to inventive choices. A solid winner everytime.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sips also viewed

Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Sips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.