We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Save
You added Seawall Motel to your Saves list
566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winthrop, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time chatting with Dave and Speed Bump the Cat! The room was comfortable, clean and had a fantastic view. There were amenities (soap & shampoo). The breakfast was plentiful with delicious hot coffee. The atmosphere was warm friendly and very laid-back, just the right place to relax for a weekend. We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor (no elevator) the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
76
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hospitality was superior - Dave and Vicki really run a "salon" here every morning over breakfast, so feel free to join in the conversation, with local Mainers as well as out-of-state guests! Room was very clean and comfortable; amenities (soap and shampoo) were especially nice. Close attention is paid to environmental needs and people's sensitivities. We stayed an extra day, in a large part because we were so comfortable, even though it was the off-season. If you go, and we hope you do, tell them Chris and Steve said hello....

Room Tip: Room 20 has the best view as well as a very comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are going on our fifth year staying here. Love it! Dave and Vicki provide a friendly and warm atmosphere to meet and share vacation secrets with other guest. Every year we increase our stay time. Aways clean. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have wanted to come up to MDI for a very long time during the winter and choose this motel because we camp near here often at Seawall Campground. We had walked over one day while camping and meet Vicki one of the owners and she took the time out of her day to show us around and let us look into a room and was more than willing to answer any questions. Vicki & David are wonderful host and make you feel right at home and they provide a wonderful continental breakfast. The views from the motel are great; you are fairly close to the town of Southwest Harbor and some fine dinning and are very close to the national park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wonderful owners who really take pride in their work. Very friendly, clean, environment. Lots of attention to detail. We stayed during the off season, which turned out to be a very good idea.

Overall a very honest business, which isn't something that can be experienced frequently when tourism is a source of money. Really appreciated it. Thanks Seawall, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a balcony, and the continental breakfast is definitely and important part of the experience .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The accommodation was clean and basic. The breakfast was adequate with coffee, tea, cocoa, boiled egg, various pastries. The other guests we met at breakfast were interesting and some of them have been staying here every year! The owner told us his interesting life story :)

Location is great specially if you want to watch sunrise (just walk across the street) and sunset at the lighthouse. One can drive along the somes sound to get to acadia from here. The views on the drive are amazing and we also stopped at the azalea garden. It is away from the touristy section like bar harbor and we really enjoyed the quiet and stars in the night.

I would highly recommend this place for families.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Been coming back here for over 50 years. I would not stay anywhere else. The Owners treat you like family and are most friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. That and what's outside your door , the beautiful ocean is right across the street ,along with countless walking trails a beautiful and quiet side of the Island. Speedbump( the resident cat) will greet you when you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Address: 566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seawall Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.