We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Along the Quietside of the Island...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Save
You added Seawall Motel to your Saves list
566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Along the Quietside of the Island...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The ocean view and peacefulness were wonderful, the bathrooms were impeccable (I never notice things like that, but they were SO clean that I did), the rooms spacious, the general feel relaxed and warm. My family, especially my daughter, loved Speedbump the resident cat. We had never been to the area before and chose this hotel on a whim - compared to the madness of the Bar Harbor area, I far preferred it and would happily stay there again. The hotel is just down the road from two short, neat hikes (Wonderland and the Ship Harbor trails), both of which are magical at low tide as tide pools are aplenty. Southwest Harbor had a number of great restaurants.

Although the hotel is no frills, it is well set up with a common room which included laundry, a microwave and a fridge (as well as tape and markers so that you could label items with your name). The owners and staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
76
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Old style motel but very comfortable. Good wifi connection .great place to watch stars in evening. Very clean rooms helpful staff. Good price. Great place for walks to sea wall and picnic area of Acadia national park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

No frills, no a/c, but the room did the job just fine. We liked the staff including Speedbump. The sfaff was friendly and helpful, as was Speedbump. : ) Wi-fi was limited at night when we were there, but came clear the next morning. The breakfast was good. The family is glad we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Seawall is a no-frills motel on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island. If you are visiting for the attractions in the area...and there are MANY...and just want a clean, comfortable place to rest your head at night, then this is the place for you. It's not fancy, but who needs that when there's so much to do! Spend your day in the park, or at the beach, or shopping in Bar Harbor, and then head for Southwest Harbor for the live theater, great dining or just the nice village ambiance. The family that runs the motel is very friendly and will make recommendations for you. A great place to stay while visiting Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have rated this motel 5 stars, not because it is a 5-star hotel with all the amenities that one associates with that rating, but because for what the Seawall Motel is - a lower budget, older motel - it functions perfectly. My husband and I wanted to extend our two week vacation on Mt. Desert Island by a night and selected this motel in the southwest area of the island. It is directly across from Seawall, a beautiful and fun natural wonder that kids love, and perfect for star gazing or just poking amongst the welks and mussels at low tide. It is convenient to various Acadia National Park hiking areas (Ship Harbor, Wonderland), Southwest Harbor, and the charming village of Bass Harbor, a working fishing village. Everything about the motel speaks of the care and thoughtfulness of the owners/operators. Rooms are freshly painted and sparkling clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is free, as is the extended continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, oatmeal and an assortment of cereals, breads and pastries (and a freshly brewed pot of decaffeinated coffee for me!) For the price, you simply cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: the view from the second floor balconies is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place on Mt Desert Island, near Acadia, but on the quieter side of the island than Bar Harbor, then look no further. This is laid out like a motel (with 20 motel like rooms) but the vibe is more B&B. Family run and extremely friendly and helpful. Resident cat "Speedbump" is the property's celebrity. Breakfast is well laid out and offers something for everyone, including good conversation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Seawall Motel in Southwest Harbor, Maine. The owners and staff were wonderful. The owners were very knowledgeable about all the things we wanted to do, from renting bikes, hiking, walking trails, food, to just making us feel at home. Rooms were very clean and simple. The location was good for us, quiet and out of the way, but with easy access to free bus service to Bar Harbor and places around the Island. A breakfast was available every day, but after the second day we walked across the parking lot to the Common Good Cafe which served great coffee, oatmeal, and popovers. All proceeds go to helping out people in need over the long winter. Great views from the seawall, lovely hikes nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, away from car lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Address: 566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seawall Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.