We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Acadia National Park is amazing and staying at the Seawall Motel only made the experience all the better. The owners, Dave and Vicky, are very nice and would do anything to make your stay perfect. Mindy, the manager, has the most bubbly personality ever and would also do anything for you. It is like staying with family even though you have never met. The office is always open for coffee and cocoa and a nice chat. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The Seawall Motel is far enough away from the hustle of tourists but close enough that you can get anywhere you need to in under 30 minutes. The view from the motel is awesome too.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to MDI and Acadia and could not have had a more pleasurable experience. Dave and Vicky are not only accommodating hosts, but they and their staff are equally friendly and knowledgeable. At Morning breakfast you also can meet and talk with other patrons and share stories and tips on great hikes, restaurants and activities. The friendly atmosphere combined with a beautiful location and clean comfortable rooms made for the perfect base camp to explore the island. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Dave and Vickie, the owners, were incredibly friendly and helpful. Mindy is amazing and made us feel right at home. A light continental breakfast with a nice variety is served in a homey atmosphere. Our room was spotless and quite comfortable. We enjoyed our stay & the beautiful view so much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place, away from busy Bar Harbor. Rooms are basic but very clean. Good continental breakfast in the morning. Owners are very friendly and welcoming. Be careful not to run over Speedbump the cat because he loves to lay in the middle of the parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Seawall Motel offers comfortable and clean accommodations in the peaceful setting of Southwest Harbor, Maine. From the moment we arrived until the time we departed, the hosts and their wonderful staff were welcoming, gracious and friendly. And the real "Boss of the Seawall," Speed Bump (the cat), makes sure that everyone is happy and accounted for in the evening as he walks his rounds. Great breakfasts each morning, and all the advice for adventures, when requested. We can't wait to return to this property. If you go in Summer be sure to adore the mysterious fog that creeps in overnight and then slowly melts away (or at least partially away) as the morning progresses. We actually loved the fog, and we more than enjoyed the clean, moist air that enveloped us and made us forget the swealtering heat we'd been having at home. Return we shall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at the Seawall motel for 4 nights with my husband, 2 teenage boys and my daughter and her boyfriend in their 20's. It was a great fit for a family vacation. We had 2 rooms on the second floor,adjacent to one another. The motel is in a perfect location right across the road from the natural seawall, literally steps from the Seawall entrance to Acadia National Park. It is a quiet area without alot of traffic where you can really enjoy the beauty of the surroundings yet close enough to the park attractions. I enjoyed looking at the tide pools and watching the beaver and otter in the pond at the end of the driveway. The teenagers liked catching crabs and climbing on the rocks, Large, well maintained rooms were a great value. We had plenty of room for all of our stuff. Dave and Vicky made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Both are so friendly and helpful. Dave provided us with suggestions on how and where to rent kayaks,what not to miss at Bass harbor Lighthouse and hiking trail suggestions. The breakfast options include cereals,bagels,danish, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices,coffee tea and hot chocolate. I really enjoyed chatting with Dave and Vicky and the other guests at breakfast. It is a very comfortable setting. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The second floor offers a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

It's always refreshing to stay at old fashioned motels. The Seawall Motel is one of those places that you could visit every year for the rest of your life. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good, and the friendliness was off the chart. Dave, the owner, even gave hugs when we checked out. We'll really miss that place. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Address: 566 Seawall Road, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Southwest Harbor
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seawall Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seawall Motel to your Saves list