We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short hike with great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Mountain Hiking Trail

Flying Mountain Hiking Trail
Fernald Point Road, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Orono, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A short hike with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We did this hike as a break from some other longer harder ones, but it is well worth it for the lovely views.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“best little mtn on MDI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Flying Mtn has stairs to the top at the parking lot. The view up and down Somes Sound is spectacular. The views of the luxurious mansions along the sound are great. We do it almost daily as we live on the island some of the year.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Familt Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We habe been doing this hike for over ten years with members of our family on annual trips to Maine. It is a bit off beaten path, offers great sound views, moderate hiking, and a spot for kids to take a dip in sound at turn around on rocky beach, refreshingly cool! Take the path behind the beach back to parking area for easier time, what we always do.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An easy trail with great rewards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A short, slightly strenuous hike to the top will reward you with beautiful views of Somes Sound (the only Fjord on the East Coast)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west orange nj
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great little hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

perfect 50 minute hike with rocks and water views. good warm up for the rest of the day.......................................................................

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Mountain Hiking Trail also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Flying Mountain Hiking Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Mountain Hiking Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.