We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat food, great wines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sky

Red Sky
14 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4410
+1 207-244-0476
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Geat food, great wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

According to a few reviews, reservations were recommended at Red Sky. Since it was off season, we thought we'd try our luck because we were in the neighborhood. When I mentioned that we weren't properly dressed (in our hiking clothes), the waitress kindly commented, "Well, you have clothes on, don't you? ", and we were promptly seated. What followed were delicious salads, a superb fresh lobster risotto with asparagus and mushrooms, and a heavenly gingerbread dessert with caramel sauce and apple brandy. All of this was accompanied by excellent New Zealand wines and good music from the stereo. The waitress was very knowledgeable about their wines and her recommendations were spot-on. We'd definitely go here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    46
    25
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent food. Awesome service. Do not miss this opportunity for a great dining experience. A first...... We tried the app special, sweet breads. Very nice. Thanks for a memorizable anniversary dinner. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very nice place - definitely worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Really, this review might be more like a 4.5 star review. Had a very nice time with my wife and some friends at Red Sky after a sunset sail out of Southwest Harbor. This is a fine dining restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Good, reasonably priced wine list. Loved the Mussels as an appetizer. Asked for and received extra bread (tasty) for sopping up the juice. My wife said that her Sole was the best she has eaten. Definitely worth getting out of Bar Harbor to eat here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Harbor, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Red Sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Southwest Harbor. David Rockefeller comes all the way from Seal Harbor to eat here. Last time there we had to wait on our reservation (you better have one to get in) because Mr. Rockefeller was lingering at our table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cosy, Friendly, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was at Red Sky for a work-related dinner with a client group. As we walked in through the door we could tell it was going to be a nice evening. The ambience was cosy and welcoming, allowing us to have a good conversation at our table. And the food was very good. I had a lobster starter and baby back ribs main. Both very very well prepared. The wine we chose was excellent too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Red Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.