We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roll up your sleeves and enjoy the lobster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beal's Lobster Pier

Beal's Lobster Pier
182 Clark Point Road, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
+1 207-244-3202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Eat, drink and be messy. A visit to Beal's Lobster Pier is always a highlight - a restaurant that's on the water, with an atmosphere that's down to earth. At our working lobster pier in Southwest Harbor, Maine, you and your family will have a blast watching the boasts coming in and the lobstermen unloading their fresh catch. Hear the creak of rope on the moorings. Catch the scent of saltwater on the breeze and enjoy the waterfront view while chowing down on the freshest lobster you can eat. (Don't worry, the napkins are on us!)
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“roll up your sleeves and enjoy the lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

nothing fancy here, just great lobster and sides....

we get lobsters and a variety of other seafoods as snack items to go with the corn and cole slaw, then settle in at an outside table and just savor every last piece

Lobster? This is the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    96
    43
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Fancy but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were staying close to Beal's and decided we wanted a more authtic feel to our "Lobster Meal"!
This place is not fancy by any means, but has some definite charm! You can choose to sit in the enclosed area or right on the pier watching as the fisherman come in bringing there catch of the day. Our lobster and shrimp were very fresh and the onion rings were great. I would suggest this to my friends if you wanted a more authentic feel of getting fresh seafood. If you don't like eating out of a boxed meal where you get your own condiments, don't go. But if you don't mind eating at a picnic table with a fantastic view of working lobster boats it is a must! And, nothing is cheap anywhere you go so don't expect cheap just because it isn't a fancy sit down restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average lobster roll”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with the lobster roll that Beal's served. The roll was a small quantity of claw meat on a limp piece of lettuce in a hot dog bun. Nothing was added, no mayo, no salt, pepper, nothing. Now, I understand that everyone has their opinion on proper lobster roll preparation but maybe some tail meat and a small quantity of mayo mixed in? The cole slaw was good but also a small portion. The price was fairly high, about $16. With all of the lobster pounds in Maine, I'd go elsewhere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food at Beal's is outstanding. One of the top ten places I have encountered in Maine for fresh lobster and steamers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“You can get a better price elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Pro's;
It is right in Southwest Harbor and it is right on the water.
Great atmosphere
Great view
Saw the fireworks on 4th of July from here
Great tasting lobster
That said
Cons
First stop was lobster rolls.
$18 for a very small portion
Second stop was two lobsters,
Two corn, one fried clams, one fried oysters, one cheeseburger
$80?
We went elsewhere the next day over jn Trenton and got practically same stuff for $50.
Go for ambience
Great tasting food
Ambience has a stiffer price

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beal's Lobster Pier also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Beal's Lobster Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beal's Lobster Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.